Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Retirees Recognized at Faculty Honors Convocation


Faculty Retirees
William Allen, Loretta Brewer, Dianne Lawler, Don Maness, Robin Payne and Nonie Wiggins

JONESBORO – Six faculty members who are retiring this academic year were recognized today during the annual Faculty Honors Convocation for their longtime service to Arkansas State University, according to Dr. Lynita Cooksey, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs.

“These individuals have had a highly positive impact on the lives of their students and on Arkansas State,” Cooksey said.  "While we will miss them, we wish them all the best as they begin new journeys beyond the halls of A-State.”

Each retiree's dean presented a tribute to the individual, noting career highlights.  Chancellor Tim Hudson and the president of the Faculty Association, Julie Isaacson, also participated in the ceremony.

The retirees, academic title, and their lengths of service at Arkansas State are:

  • Dr. William Allen, professor of art, 36 years;
  • Dr. Loretta Brewer, professor of social work, 14 years;
  • Dr. Dianne Lawler, professor of early childhood education, 26 years;
  • Dr. Don Maness, professor of teacher education, 13 years;
  • Robin Payne, Librarian, 29 years; and
  • Dr. Nonie Wiggins, associate professor of nursing, 22 years.

Each retiree with 10 or more years of service is awarded emeritus status.  The university also presents a certificate in recognition of the individual's service and contributions to the university. 

The Faculty Honors Convocation, a highlight of the annual Convocation of Scholars observance, is hosted by the Office of Academic Affairs and Research to celebrate the achievements of Arkansas State’s faculty.

# # #