Welcome to Arkansas State University!

DOCC- Diversifying Our Curing Community

Diversifying Our Curing Community (DOCC) is a selective program for students who are interested in a career as a medical doctor.

DOCC is a four-year program that provides the following benefits to students:

  1. $1500 stipend per semester for those who remain eligible
  2. Summer program (Aug 7-11) which includes instruction in chemistry and mathematics, housing, meals, mentoring, advising, and cohort building activities. $600 stipend for attending summer program.
  3. Intensive advising by science faculty members and UAMS staff
  4. Pre-med programs at NYITCOM
  5. Research experience with a faculty member from A-State, ABI, or NYITCOM
  6. MCAT prep course (fee paid by DOCC)
  7. MCAT exam fee paid by DOCC

In order to apply for the DOCC program you need to be an admitted, incoming freshman student at Arkansas State University. To apply, please complete the following steps:

  1. Complete Application
  2. Send high school transcript (unofficial is fine) and essay explaining your interest in a career as a medical doctor (max 500 words) to lonniew@astate.edu.

As part of the selection process, applicants will participate in an interview by faculty members of the selection committee. 

D.O.C.C. Events:

Dr Williams and DOCC Students

(Pictured above: DOCC students at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr Program with Vice Chancellor Dr. Lonnie Williams)

Screenshot 2023-01-25 at 8.55.50 PM.png

(Pictured above: DOCC student, Elise Brazile, singing the Negro National Anthem at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr Program.)

Screenshot 2023-01-25 at 8.55.31 PM.png Screenshot 2023-01-25 at 8.55.40 PM.png

(Pictured above: DOCC students with Dr. King Day speaker and author, Dr. Donald “Doc” Arnette.)

Thumbnail_IMG_9258.jpg Thumbnail_IMG_9260.jpg

(Pictured above: DOCC students during finals study session.)


(Pictured above: DOCC students at Escape Room)

This program is made possible through a grant from the Blue & You Foundation for a Healthier Arkansas.