Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Writers complete summer retreat at Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum and Educational Center


PIGGOTT, Ark. – Fifteen talented writers from five states came together for the Summer Writers’ Retreat to hone their skills and to form a community in Northeast Arkansas at the recent Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum and Educational Center.

Pat Carr of Fayetteville, Ark., served as mentor for the retreat.  She has a bachelor of arts and a master of arts from Rice, a doctorate degree from Tulane and has taught writing and literature in universities and workshops across the country. Carr has published 16 books, including The Women in the Mirror, winner of the prestigious Iowa Fiction Award, and Death of a Confederate Colonel, winner of both the PEN (Poets, Playwrights, Editors, Essayists and Novelists) Southwest Fiction Award and John Estes Cooke Civil War Fiction Award. 

She has over 100 short stories published in places as The Southern Review and Best American Short Stories. Her most recent books are a memoir, One Page at a Time (2010), a how-to text, Writing Fiction with Pat Carr (2010), and a novella, The Radiance of Fossils (2012).

Writers began each day with group activities designed to inspire and encourage creative thought followed by a time to write.  They enjoyed lunch together at the educational center and ended the afternoon with a group meeting to reflect, share, and discuss the products and processes used by each writer.  The format allowed writers time to focus on their own creative interests, to receive feedback on their work, and to form relationships with other writers.

Writers’ Retreats are held three times a year at the Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum in Piggott.  The next retreat is scheduled for November 4-8, 2013, with Andrea Hollander serving as mentor.  Contact the museum for more information at (870) 598-3487.

Summer Writers RetreatSpring Writers’ Retreat Participants, Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum, Piggott, Ark.

Back row (left to right):  Eva Whittle (Scottsville, Ky.), Glenda Gabhart (Bowling Green, Ky.), Ethan Baker (Poplar Bluff, Mo.), Linda Wyss (Piggott, Ark.), Fay Guinn (Jonesboro, Ark.), Richard Hartness (Wynne, Ark.), Peg Konert (Fayetteville, Ark.), Linda Bennett (Little Rock, Ark.), JoAnn Terdiman (Mt. Kisco, N.Y.), Talya Boerner (Dallas, Texas), Debbie Archer (Walnut Ridge, Ark.)  Front row:  Mary Lester (Little Rock, Ark.), Kayla Dean (Beebe, Ark.), Dorothy Johnson (Little Rock, Ark.), Pat Carr (Fayetteville, Ark.), Adam Long (Piggott, Ark.), Stephanie Kaplan Cohen (Scarsdale, N.Y.)