Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Unity Park Re-Dedication Ceremony is Homecoming Highlight


JONESBORO – Students, faculty and staff will gather to re-dedicate Unity Park Saturday, Oct. 3, at its new site on campus.

The ceremony and flag raising begins at 8:30 a.m. at the new site in Greek Village, north of Aggie Road and east of the International English Studies Building.  The public is invited.

Alumnus Rickey Jackson of Blytheville will speak about the history and significance of Unity Park at A-State.

The flag poles in Unity Park will display the flags of nine National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) Greek-letter sororities and fraternities.  Collectively they are known as "The Divine Nine" because of the groups' rich history in American higher education.

DeAnna Watson of North Little Rock, president of NPHC, will lead the flag-raising ceremony for Unity Park, which also was designed as a gathering place for NPHC members.

One by one, representatives of each group will introduce their organization then raise their flag.

In the order their flags are to be raised, the nine organizations are: Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity, Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority, Kappa Alpha Psi fraternity, Omega Psi Phi fraternity, Delta Sigma Theta sorority, Phi Beta Sigma fraternity, Zeta Phi Beta sorority, Sigma Gamma Rho sorority and Iota Phi Theta fraternity.

The campus chapters of Delta Sigma Theta and Sigma Gamma Rho are currently inactive.

The original location was south of Aggie Road, but Unity Park was moved due to construction of the Humanities and Social Sciences Building.  The new building was dedicated Sept. 18.

# # #

Unity Park Plans
Unity Park