Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Theatre Announces Cast and Crew for ‘Silent Sky’


JONESBORO – Arkansas State University’s Department of Theatre opens the 2018-19 season with “Silent Sky” by Lauren Gunderson. Performances are Friday and Saturday, Sept. 28-29, and Monday and Tuesday, Oct. 2-3, at 7:30 p.m., along with a matinee at 2 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 30, all at Simpson Theatre in Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Dr.

The production of "Silent Sky" will be directed by Marc Williams, department co-chair and assistant professor of theatre. 

According to Williams, “Silent Sky” is the story of Henrietta Leavitt’s work at the Harvard Observatory in the early 1900s, where she isn’t allowed to touch a telescope or express an original idea. In her free time, she measures the light and distance of stars, making some of the most incredible discoveries of the century.  Gunderson’s captivating play is the true story of how Leavitt changed the way we understand both the heavens and Earth.

“Silent Sky” is produced in conjunction with the Arkansas Science Festival. Audience members attending performances Sept. 28-30 may enjoy a mobile planetarium displayed in Fowler Center’s Grand Hall, sponsored by the Arkansas Science Festival. The planetarium will be available beginning one hour prior to each performance and is free of charge.

The cast includes Reilly Heffer, a theatre major from Little Rock, who plays Henrietta Leavitt. Theatre major Courtney Light of Alicia plays Annie Cannon, theatre major Zac Passmore of Jonesboro plays Peter Shaw, psychology major Kassidy Ratz of Beebe plays Williamina Fleming, and Hayley Scott of North Little Rock, a theatre major, plays Margaret Leavitt. 

Scenic design is by Jeff McLaughlin, assistant professor of theatre, costume design is by Claire Abernathy, associate professor of theatre, lighting and sound designs are by Caisa Sanburg, assistant professor of theatre, original music compositions are by Derek Jenkins, assistant professor of music, and hair and makeup design is by theatre major Davis Campbell of Batesville. Brianna Larson, instructor in theatre, is associate director.

Assistant director and assistant scenic designer is David Norris, a theatre major from Desha. Assistant lighting designer is Hannah Martin, a theatre major from Blytheville. Stage manager is Lauren Wilcox, a theatre major from Jonesboro. Assistant stage managers are Abigail Gray, a theatre major from Jonesboro, and Cody Preston, a theatre major from Bono. 

Properties are by Clay Bures, a chemistry major from Jacksonville, and Catherine Finne of Little Rock, a theatre major. Master electrician is Griffen Birdsong, a theatre major from Heber Springs. House managers are Josh Pryor, a theatre major from Clinton, and Caelon Colbert, a theatre major from Little Rock. Sound board operator is Katelyn Stanton, a theatre major from Trumann.

Light board operator is Elizabeth Escobedo, a theatre major from Russellville. Publicists are Amy Faughn, a theatre major from Jonesboro, and Ally Whitaker, a business major from Batesville. Backstage crew includes Sam Scott, a theatre major from Frenchman's Bayou. Wardrobe crew includes Dejah Harris, a theatre major from Pine Bluff, Bryce Moore, a theatre major from White Hall, Michaela Partridge, a theatre major from Leola, and Claire Thomas, a theatre major from Batesville.

For tickets, call 870-972-ASU1 or visit AState.edu/Tickets. Tickets are $10-15.

                                                       # # #