Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Stuttgart Student Wins Franzen Scholarship


JONESBORO – Cameron Seidenschwarz, a sophomore majoring in plant and soil science with an emphasis in agronomy at Arkansas State University, has been awarded the Katherine E. Franzen Memorial Scholarship for 2019-20. The Franzen family selects the award winner each spring semester.

“I want to contribute to the agriculture community in some manner by pursuing one of the many opportunities available in the agriculture industry,” said Seidenschwarz, who comes from a family of fourth generation farmers in the Stuttgart area. “With my degree, there is a large number of jobs I could do. I would really like to work at a plant breeding research company or a seed company in order to gain more knowledge about plants and help farmers to have a good harvest.”

During the summer months, he worked at the University of Arkansas Rice Research and Extension Center in the agronomy department. After completing his undergraduate degree at A-State, he hopes to pursue his master’s degree.

He is a member of Kappa Alpha Order fraternity at A-State and serves on the recruitment committee of that organization.

Franzen scholarship recipients must be from Arkansas County and a full-time student at Arkansas State majoring in an agriculture-related field. The scholarship was founded to help students advance their agricultural education. Recipients must maintain a minimum 2.25 grade point average and must exhibit leadership qualities.

The Katherine Franzen Memorial Scholarship is privately funded, established in 1992 by her grandson, Tom W. Franzen, to honor his grandmother who lived in Stuttgart. She was an astute farmer and businesswoman whose generosity was far-reaching. 

Katherine E. Franzen (1914-2001) was a lifelong resident who contributed to a number of causes in the Stuttgart area. She was especially known for presenting anonymous gifts and sought no personal recognition. 

Cameron Seidenschwarz
Cameron Seidenschwarz, Katherine E. Franzen Memorial Scholarship recipient.