Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Student Media Outlets Win 15 ACMA Awards


JONESBORO – Arkansas State University’s multimedia journalism students won 15 awards at the 2018 Arkansas College Media Association’s (ACMA) annual conference and awards ceremonies held Friday, April 6, at Henderson State University in Arkadelphia.

A-State’s Red Wolf Radio won the general excellence award as Radio Outlet of the Year.

“I’m thrilled for the students who make Red Wolf Radio work,” adviser Larz Roberts said. “We have students from many different walks of life and different majors who put their collective voice and stories out for the world to hear, and it really means something to them when someone outside the operation acknowledges their efforts. This award and the national award we won in New York this year are just a beginning of what we hope to be a long line of evidence of ongoing excellence in radio programming.”

Osa Amienyi, chair of the Department of Media, noted the benefits of the contest. “It’s a great achievement,” he said, “and it positions us well for moving on to competitions at the national stage.”

A-State award winners also included student media in television and newspapers from ASU-TV and The Herald, respectively.

First-place winners:
Seth Cleveland, television news reporting, for “Medical Marijuana.”
Destini Lattimore, newspaper personality profile, for “Mariana’s Story.”
Dagan McCluskey, best radio sports coverage, for “Gridiron Talks.”
Christopher Lee, television features, for “Samuel Jones feature.”
Jorge Quiquivix, television weather, for “A-State Weather.”

Second-place winners:
Kavin Alexander, newspaper editorial cartoon, for “Send Nukes.”
Destini Lattimore and Neil Williams, newspaper headlines, for “Keeping the Wolves from the Door.”
Kirstin May, television news reporting, for “Creepy Clowns.”

Third-place winners:
Kavin Alexander, newspaper editorial cartoon, for “Good Luck.”
Seth Cleveland, television features, for “Hannah Hall feature.”
Destini Lattimore, newspaper personality profile, for “A-State Welcomes Chancellor Kelly Damphousse.”

Honorable Mentions:
Miyanna Garrett, newspaper review writing, for “Get Out.”
Christopher Lee, television news reporting, for “Loot Boxes.”
Neil Williams, newspaper front page layout, for “Keeping the Wolves from the Door.”

Thirteen national collegiate media advisers judged more than 500 entries from state college media outlets for the contest. A complete list of winners is expected to be posted on the Arkansas College Media Association’s website (arkcma.wordpress.com) later this month.