Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Neil Griffin College of Business Recognizes Outstanding 2022-23 Graduates


JONESBORO – The most outstanding 2022-23 graduates of the Neil Griffin College of Business at Arkansas State University were recognized during Convocation of Scholars, according to Dr. Jim Washam, dean of the college.

Roxana Flores Munoz of Jonesboro received the Chancellor’s Scholar award as the graduating senior with the highest GPA in the college this academic year.  Munoz, along with Caitlin Cooper of Jonesboro, Melanie Fortson of Cabot, Lauren Fry of Beech Grove, Lisa King of Alexander, Elizabeth Noel of Paragould, Lindsey Norman of Bono, Katherine Pattillo of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Austin Shultz of Paragould and Jessie Thompson of Paragould received the 4.0 Scholar Award. The Chancellor’s Scholar is the 4.0 student with the most credit hours at A-State.

The outstanding graduate awards are presented to the senior in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service.

Those receiving departmental awards and their respective degree programs are: Melanie Fortson of Cabot, accounting; Elizabeth Noel of Paragould, business administration; Thomasina Huggins of Jonesboro, Luka Naglic of Jesenice, Slovenia, and Austin Shultz of Paragould, finance (financial management emphasis); Kenlee Killian of Pineville and Chance Lawson of Searcy, finance (banking emphasis); Zachary Chastain of Dyess, BA in economics; and Kaylee Middleton of Mountain Home, BS in economics.

Other departmental award winners are: Lindsey Norman of Bono and Kristina Garlington of Benton, BA in economics (pre-law emphasis); and Annaleise Anderson of Little Rock, computer and information technology; Ashley Watson of Searcy, international business; Katherine Pattillo of Poplar Bluff, Mo., management; Seth Tyer of McCrory, management (human resources emphasis); Roxana Flores Munoz of Jonesboro, marketing; John Helberg of Malvern, marketing (sales leadership emphasis); and Sydni Leung of Plano, Texas, global supply chain management.

Graduate degree program award winners are Emily Metcalf-Owen of Jonesboro, Master of Business Administration, and Hayden Dulgar of Ravenden, Master of Accountancy with Data Analytics.

Melanie Fortson of Cabot received the Talbert-Carrothers Dean’s Award, named in honor of two former deans of the college and presented to a graduating senior with the second-highest GPA.

Griffin College of Business Building
Neil Griffin College of Business at A-State