Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Howard Slinkard reappointed to ASU Board of Trustees


Howard Slinkard, the current chair of Arkansas State University’s Board of Trustees, was reappointed to the board by Governor Mike Beebe Jan. 13. Slinkard’s four-year appointment was to expire in January 2012 prior to his reappointment. The new appointment will expire Jan. 14, 2017.

ASU’s Board members elected Slinkard, an attorney from Rogers, to serve as chair Dec. 3, 2010. Other members of the board are
 Dan Pierce of Jonesboro, Charles Luter of Paragould, Ron Rhodes of Cherokee Village and Mike Gibson of Osceola.

Slinkard, a senior member in the Slinkard Law Firm in Rogers, has engaged in the private practice of law since his graduation from the University of Arkansas School of Law in 1972. He formerly served two six-year terms as a member of the Board of Trustees of Northwest Arkansas Community College in Bentonville, chairing the board for two years.

He has been active in many civic and professional organizations and served as president of several, including the Rogers Lions Club, Benton County Bar Association, Northwest Arkansas Indian Club and a board member and pro bono legal counsel for numerous charitable organizations in Northwest Arkansas. He also is an avid hunter and fisherman.

Slinkard is a native of Trumann, where he was a 1965 graduate of Trumann High School. He holds a bachelor of arts from Arkansas State University and a juris doctor from the University of Arkansas.

Members of the ASU Board of Trustees are appointed by the governor and serve staggered five-year terms.  The board has oversight responsibilities for the ASU System of campuses at Jonesboro, Beebe, Mountain Home, Newport, Heber Springs, Searcy and Marked Tree. 

# # #