Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Sciences and Mathematics Honors Top 2020-21 Graduates


JONESBORO -- The College of Sciences and Mathematics at Arkansas State University has recognized 21 outstanding students who are graduating in 2020-21, according to Dr. Lynn Boyd, dean of the college.  The virtual recognition was in lieu of the awards ceremony normally conducted during Convocation of Scholars.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Gary (Nick) Stillwell of Conway.  The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college.

Stillwell, along with Emma Cherry of North Little Rock, Elizabeth Corbin of Searcy, Banks Harris of Paragould, Krista Henderson of Hot Springs, Kali Koelling of Horseshoe  Bend and Bailey McAlexander of Jonesboro, received the 4.0 Scholar Award.  When a tie occurs, the Chancellor's Scholar is the student with the most credit hours.

The departmental awards are presented to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were:

Biological Sciences
Bailey McAlexander of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Science (BS), biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Elizabeth Corbin of Searcy, BS, zoology; Sarah Mahan of Bee Branch, BS, environmental science; Candace Gottsponer of Center Ridge, BS, environmental studies; Taylor Fiedor of O’Kean, BS, wildlife conservation management; and Elizabeth Urbina Obregon of Queretaro, Mexico, BS, biotechnology.

Chemistry and Physics
Rachel French of Collierville, Tenn., Bachelor of Arts (BA), chemistry; and Charles Holloway of Jacksonville, BS, physics.

Krista Henderson of Hot Springs, BSE, mathematics; and McKenzie Waddell of Jonesboro, BS, mathematics.

Graduate Programs
Graduate student awards were presented to six master’s degree students and a doctoral degree candidates.

The students and their respective programs were: Crystal Griffin of Atkins, Master of Science (MS), biological sciences; Cathie Butler of Paragould, Master of Arts (MA), biological sciences; Christopher Duft of Weiner, MS, mathematics; Joshua Manning of Paragould, MSE, mathematics; Andressa Alves Augusto of São Paulo, Brazil, MS, environmental sciences; Shannon Cunningham of Nassau, Bahamas, MS, molecular biosciences; Sara Elizabeth Harrod of Schertz, Texas, Ph.D., environmental sciences.

# # #