Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

31 Distinguished A-State Faculty Selected for Wall of Honor


JONESBORO – The Arkansas State University Faculty Association will recognize 31 individuals who have been selected for the Distinguished Faculty Wall of Honor during the association's annual holiday event on Wednesday, Dec. 10.

All A-State faculty, family and friends of the honorees, and previously designated distinguished faculty are invited to the 4-5 p.m. ceremony and 5-6 p.m. reception at the Cooper Alumni Center, 2600 Alumni Blvd.

Recognition of distinguished faculty began during the university's Centennial Celebration in 2009-10 when the Faculty Association selected the "First 100 Distinguished Faculty."  Every five years the association selects a number of retired faculty, through a well-defined faculty committee nomination process, who have made long-term significant contributions to Arkansas State.

"One of the goals of the Centennial was to establish traditions on campus.  The creation of the Arkansas State University Faculty Association Historical Committee has allowed us a mechanism and a process for continuing a tradition of honoring past faculty who have made lasting and significant academic contributions to the university," stated Dr. John D. Hall, professor of psychology and counseling and chair of the Historical Committee, which is charged with overseeing the process.

Julie J. Isaacson, associate professor of nursing and Faculty Association president, added, "When reviewing the nominations for the distinguished faculty and their accolades, a few common themes emerged.  They all are experts in their disciplines and they all served and represented the university well.  Most importantly, these faculty were student focused.  They engaged their students and challenged them academically; they made a difference in their lives."

During the ceremony, Mike Doyle, general manager of KASU radio, will read the name of each honoree, and Isaacson and Hall will present a certificate to each faculty member or a family or faculty representative.

The 2014 selections, whose names will be added to the Distinguished Faculty Wall of Honor outside Centennial Hall in the Carl R. Reng Student Union, include 31 former faculty members representing all colleges on campus.

Here are the newly designated distinguished faculty:

Distinguished Faculty photos

(L-R) Roger W. Abernathy, Ph.D., Professor of Mathematics and Statistics, 1985-2006
Nancy Bacot, Ed.S., Instructor in Teacher Education, 1972-2013
Larry D. Ball, Ph.D., Professor of History, 1970-2001
George Berger, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Agronomy and Plant Breeding, 1971-1982
Thomas D. Bishop, Ed.D., Professor of Mathematics, 1970-2002
Roger A. Buchanan, Ph.D., Professor of Zoology, 1992-2012
Roger G. Carlisle, M.F.A., Professor of Art, 1974-2014

Distinguished Faculty photos

(L-R) Charles R. Carr, Ph.D., Professor of Philosophy, 1975-2012
Thomas H. Chaffee, M.F.A., Professor of Art, 1968-2010
William G. Chance, Ed.D., Professor of Elementary Education, 1965-1990
William M. Clements, Ph.D., Professor of English, 1971-2011
Rick C. Clifft, Ph.D., Professor of Engineering, 1980-2014
J. Scott Darwin, Ph.D., Professor of German, 1969-2008
John M. Enger, Ph.D., Professor of Education, 1976-2000

Faculty Photo panel row 3

(L-R) Joel T. Gambill, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Journalism, 1966-70, 1973-2010
Charles W. Hartwig, Ph.D., Professor of Political Science, 1973-2011
Jasper A. Hayles, Jr., Ph.D., Professor of Agricultural Education, 1967-1988
D. Lynn Howerton, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, 1974-2014
Richard E. Jorgensen, M.M.,  Professor of Music, 1975-2009
Donald P. Kedzie, Ph.D., Professor of Engineering, 1984-1996
Albin J. Langlois, Ph.D., Professor of Plant Science, 1964-1997

Distinguished Faculty photos

(L-R) Julia Lansford, M.M., Associate Professor of Music, 1964-2008
Van Rick McDaniel, Ph.D., Professor of Zoology, 1968-2007
Clyde A. Milner II, Ph.D., Professor of History, 2002-2014
Lawrence A. Mink, Ph.D., Professor of Physics, 1966-2000
Louella Moore, D.B.A., Professor of Accounting, 1984-87, 1991-2012
Thomas J. Parsons, Ph.D., Professor of Engineering, 1984-2014
Amos B. Rougeau, Ed.D., Professor of Agricultural Education, 1957-1992

Distinguished Faculty photos

(L-R) Elizabeth N. Stokes, Ed.D., Professor of Nursing, 1991-2006
Edgar L. Whitsitt, B.S., Dean of the College of Agriculture, 1917-1937
Don Wright, Ed.D., Professor of Education, 1970-1997

# # #