Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

2018 Distinguished Award Winner: Robert Morris


Today's featured recipient is Robert Morris. Leadership came naturally to Robert Morris, but his ability to inspire and motivate his peers toward philanthropic and support of causes led Shane Hunt to nominate the Jacksonville, Ark., native for the 2018 DSAs.

Morris will graduate in May with a Bachelor of Science degree in strategic communication.  He has been highly involved and fulfilled leadership responsibilities in Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity, several charitable causes, the Honors College and other university activities.  While pursuing a double emphasis, in advertising and social media management, and a double minor, in marketing and leadership studies, he has held numerous leadership positions such as Student Activities Board spirit and homecoming director, Honors College senator in Student Government Association, and Pack Leader for new student registration.

Morris, through his Honors senior thesis, has focused on analyzing perspectives from members of last fall's freshman class, in an effort to assist A-State with marketing, recruiting and retention.  His honor society memberships include Phi Kappa Phi, Kappa Tau Alpha and Sigma Alpha Pi.

He plans to pursue a master's degree in public service at the University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service.  Morris was nominated by Dr. Shane Hunt, professor of marketing. 

About the Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award winners are the institution’s most outstanding graduates because of their leadership, scholarship and citizenship. Faculty, staff, advisers to student organizations, and other members of the campus community submit nominations for the prestigious awards.

All of the recipients have achieved excellent academic records and provided countless hours of service to the community, their classmates, campus organizations, their departments and colleges, and to Arkansas State University. A committee comprised of students, faculty, staff and previous Wilson Award recipients makes the final selections.