Welcome to Arkansas State University!

Innovations in History

Study the past. Thrive in the present. Prepare for the future.

In the A-State History Department, we are committed to helping all our students acquire broadly transferable skills in historical thinking, critical literacy, and self-expression. Our faculty maintain active research agendas and regularly present nationally and internationally. Students have opportunities to engage in high-impact educational experiences, not only in the classroom, but also through research projects, internships, and study abroad. The ability to think critically and creatively about past realities prepares students to do likewise about contemporary choices and future possibilities. Our programs prepare students to examine context and bias, create strong and persuasive narratives with evidence, and to be civically minded community members and strong investigative researchers.

Check out the American Historical Association's brochure: Careers for History Majors

A Myriad of Opportunities

A-State history students hone their skills through a wide variety of courses and assignments.

The Benefits of a History Degree from Arkansas State University on Vimeo.

Department of History Minors

All minors require 18 hours of coursework. Details are listed in the undergraduate catalog. For more information contact Dr. Kellie Buford, kbuford@astate.edu

Department Newsletters

 Fall Newsletter Ad.png

           Click the picture above

History T-Shirt Sale.png


2023 Departmental Award Winners

Dept Scholarship Winners

Roger & Janna Lambert Scholarship 

Madison Garrett

Fairy Gillespie Scholarship

Rory Walling

Cooper-Huitt Scholarship

Emily Brannon

C.K. and Linda McFarland Scholarship

Rory Walling

Dennis Rousey Best Paper Awards

Best Practice of History Paper

Morgan Sweeney

Best Undergraduate Paper

Rebeka House

Outstanding Student Awards

Outstanding BSE Social Science Student

Jessica Gunnels

 Outstanding BA History Student

Kyra Dobson

Outstanding Graduate Student
(Dr. John Galloway Award) 

Kyra Franks