Welcome to Arkansas State University!


The eligibility for each award is listed below:

  • Advising: All Faculty
  • Professional Service: Full-Time Tenured or Tenure-Track Faculty
  • Emerging Scholarship: Tenure-Track Faculty
  • Teaching: Awards for both Tenure-Track and Non-Tenure-Track Faculty
  • Chancellor's Medal for Research and Creative Activities: Full-Time Tenured Faculty at the rank of associate or full provessor who have been at Arkansas State University for at least five (5) years.

The next faculty awards will be announced at the 2023 Convocation of Scholars. The awards are based upon faculty achievement during the preceding calendar year (January 1 - December 31, 2022).

Previous Winners

A faculty member who has previously received a Faculty Achievement Award in a particular category (advising, teaching, emerging scholarship, service) is not eligible to apply for that category award again, but is eligible to apply for the award in the other categories.

A faculty member may only be awarded the Chancellor's Medal for Research and Creative Activities once during their academic career.

Nomination & Selection Process

  1. Initial Nomination

    Eligible members of the A-State faculty must be nominated for the Faculty Achievement Awards. Nominations can come from other faculty members, current A-State staff, current students, or even a self-nomination.

  2. Completed Application & Supporting Materials

    After a faculty member is nominated, they will receive an email inviting them to complete their application via online form. The required materials vary for each award and can be found here:

  3. College Review and Finalist Submission

    After the application completion deadline, the pool of candidates will be gathered by Academic Affairs and submitted to the dean's office of their specific college for review. Each college's approach to selecting finalists may vary, but it is recommended that each college form a selection committee (or hierarchy of selection committees) to narrow their candidates to one finalist per college, per award. A representative from each college will complete an online form to submit their finalists for each award along with a recommendation letter from the department chair and dean.

  4. University Faculty Achievement Awards Committee (FAAC)

    After the deadline for colleges to submit their finalists, the materials will be forwarded to the members of the University Faculty Achievement Awards Committee. After an appropriate evaluation period, the members of the committee will meet to review and select the winners for each award. The results are confidentially submitted to Academic Affairs in preparation for the Faculty Honors Convocation.

Rules & Regulations

  1. Applicants who do not provide supporting documentation by the announced deadline will not be considered for awards.

  2. The university committee will require copies of all applications and supporting material in electronic forms. All copies must be legible.

  3. It is the responsibility of the department/college selection committees that applications be complete and in proper form and that unnecessary information (data outside of January 1 - December 31, 2022) be excluded.

  4. University FAAC members cannot serve as the chair of FAA college selection committee. However, all college selection committees are highly encouraged to have their University FAAC members involved in the review process for effective communication of award criteria and procedure.