Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Wind Ensemble Begins 2019-20 Concert Season


JONESBORO – The Arkansas State University Wind Ensemble will begin its 2019-20 concert season Thursday, Sept. 19, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall.

The Wind Ensemble is conducted by Dr. Timothy Oliver, director of bands and coordinator of wind and percussion studies in the Department of Music. 

This concert also marks the Wind Ensemble's first concert during the 90th anniversary of the A-State bands program, which began in 1929.

The concert will begin with “New World Dances” by Martin Ellerby, a work cast in three short movements that attempt to recreate the pioneering spirit of the journey across America.

Graduate conductor Pershauna Johnson will lead the ensemble in a performance of “An Outdoor Overture” by American composer Aaron Copland.  The folk song character and optimistic tone associated with Copland are ever present in this work.

Arrangements of folk songs are the basis for the next selection, Percy Grainger’s masterpiece “Lincolnshire Posy,” a cornerstone of the wind band repertoire.

The concert will close with one of John Philip Sousa’s famous marches. Written in 1888, “Semper Fidelis,” is also regarded as the official march of the U.S. Marine Corps.

Tickets are $5 for the general public, and students are admitted free with their A-State ID. For more details about this concert or any other A-State music event, one may contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.

# # #

Students in the Wind Ensemble

(Section, Name, Classification, Major and Hometown)


* Principal Player in section



Brent Cochran, Senior, Music Education, Brookland



Claudia Gonzalez, Senior, Psychology, Jonesboro

Pershauna Johnson, Graduate, Music Performance, Jonesboro

Brittney Muñoz, Sophomore, Business Administration, Jonesboro

Josh Taylor*, Senior, Music Performance, Bryant



Hannah Irby, Senior, Music Education, Saltillo, MS

Sergio Rodriguez*, Senior, Music Performance, Greenwood, MS



Lynnley Dodd, Sophomore, Music Education, Batesville

Zachary Lynn*, Sophomore, Music Performance, Jonesboro

Ryan Sowell, Freshman, Music Performance, Cabot


Eb Clarinet

Noah Wright, Sophomore, Music Performance, Ash Flat



Juliana Griffith, Freshman, Music Education, Pocahontas

Adam Hartness*, Junior, Music Education, Paragould

Sydney Middleton, Freshman, Music Education, Bradford

Alyssa Perry, Senior, Music Education, Cabot

Dylan Richmond, Junior, Music Education, Jonesboro

Sydney Rush, Freshman, Music Education, Jonesboro


Bass Clarinets

Victoria Brown, Sophomore, Music Education, McRae


Contra Clarinets

Gaberial Waters, Sophomore, Music Education, Bloomfield, MO


Alto Saxophones

Shawn Crawford*, Graduate, Music Performance, Paragould

Madasia Patterson, Freshman, Music Education, Jonesboro

Jonathan Vickers, Graduate, Music Performance, Paragould


Tenor Saxophone

Chase Hoots, Junior, Music Performance, Jonesboro



Baritone Saxophone

Ethan Scurlock, Sophomore, Music Education, Brookland



Audrey Alpha, Freshman, Music Education, Lewisburg, MS

Brandan Bakkala, Senior, Music Education, Paragould

Tyler Helms, Graduate, Music Performance, Longview, TX

Josh Hickman, Junior, Music Performance, Powell, TN

Max Hughes*, Senior, Music Education, Jonesboro

Asa Puckett, Senior, Music Performance, Jonesboro

Josh South, Sophomore, Music Education, Batesville, MO

Noah Van Deventer, Junior, Music Performance & Math, Little Rock

Blake White, Junior, Music Education, Tullahoma, TN



Blake Bartholomae, Senior, Music , Mountain Home

Jaden Berry, Freshman, Music Education, Batesville

Harrison Bruner*, Sophomore, Music Education , Highland

Brett Murdie, Sophomore, Music Education, Paragould

Connor Scroggins, Senior, Music Composition, Malvern



Emelie Fincher, Sophomore, Music Education, Springdale

Sam Johnston*, Senior, Music Education, Jonesboro

David Wilson, Junior, Music Education, Hoxie


Bass Trombone

Jack Ezell, Freshman, Music Composition, Maumelle



Mia Dupree, Senior, Music Education, Benton

Tyler Tanksley*, Junior, Music Education, Jonesboro



Kyle Allman, Senior, Music Education, Piggott

Jess Crum*, Senior, Music Education, Stuttgart

John May, Junior, Music Education, Paragould



Spencer Rawlins, Senior, Music Performance, Jonesboro



Dean MacDonald, Junior, Political Science, Paragould



Andrew Coleman, Senior, Music Education, Colt

Timothy Gilbee, Junior, Music Education, Bald Knob

Timothy Haney, Sophomore, Music Education, Haskell

Chris Isom, Senior, Music Education, Jonesboro

Parker Long, Sophomore, Music Education, Jonesboro

Jesse Lyons*, Senior, Music Education, Paragould

Eric Watson, Freshman, Music Education, Jonesboro