Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

University Singers Concert Set for Monday, April 2


JONESBORO – The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the University Singers, Community Choir, and Delta Vox in concert Monday, April 2, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall at Fowler Center.  Admission is free.

University Singers Men’s Choir, directed by Cherie Collins,  will include "Thank You, Dear Lord, For Music" arranged by Mary Coffman, "Tantsulaul (Dancing Song)" by Veljo Tormis (soloists Oscar Quiroz of Brookland, Sam Meuer of Lake City and Tristan Bodiford of Grapevine), "Our Father in Heaven" by Brian Henkelmann (soloists Nate Arrington of Springdale and Jeffrey Steward of Oil Trough), "The Sound of Silence" by Paul Simon (soloist Chance Bowen of Jonesboro), and "Drowning in Your Love" by composition student Aaron Fisher of Memphis.

Collaborative pianist is Brian Henkelmann, with additional accompaniment by classical guitarist Dr. Michael Kudirka, oboist Dr. Dan Ross, and a string quintet featuring Dr. Chi Young Song, violin, Sophia Moore of Jonesboro, violin, Le Ngo, viola, of Bentonville, Brandon Thomas, cello, of Memphis, and Spencer Rawlins, bass, of Jonesboro.  Student conductors are Oscar Quiroz and graduate assistant Hal Niederbrach of Searcy.

University Singers Women’s Choir pieces, also directed by Cherie Collins, include "Let It Shine," traditional spiritual tune, arranged by Kari Ala-Pollanen (soloists Sydney Washington of Little Rock and Jammye Robinson of Jonesboro),  "Terzetto, D. 80" by Franz Schubert, "Did You Never Know" by Jonathan Adams, "Revelation" by Z. Randall Stroope (soloist Jazmin Selvy of Little Rock), and "Blackbird" by Lennon and McCartney. 

Henkelmann is collaborative pianist, with additional accompaniment by guitarist Dr. Michael Kudirka.  Student conductors are Emily Newell of Marmaduke, Bree Sikes of Batesville, and graduate assistants Victoria Pulliam of Searcy and Matt Crociata of Jonesboro.

Delta Vox is led by Dr. Kyle Chandler and will perform the "A-State Alma Mater," "Keep Your Head Up" by Andy Grammer, "But Beautiful" by Van Heusen/Burke, and "Route 66" by Bobby Troupe, arranged by Tom O’Connor and Chandler, with accompaniment by Calvin Rawlins, drums, and Spencer Rawlins, upright bass.

The University/Community Choir, conducted by Dr. Dale Miller,  will perform "The Last Words of David" by Randall Thompson, "Regina Coeli," K. 276, by Wolfgang Mozart (soloists Kari Rickman of Bono, Carolyn Ponce of Jonesboro, Jacob Bushong of Paragould and Aaron Fisher of Memphis), "I'm Gonna' Sing" by Moses Hogan, "Witness" by Jack Halloran, "Rhythm of Life" from the musical "Sweet Charity" by Dorothy Fields and Cy Coleman, arranged by Richard Barnes, and "The Lord Bless You and Keep You" arranged by Peter C. Lutkin.  Dennis Hay and Kiera Payne are collaborative pianists.

For more details about this concert or any other A-State music event, contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.

                                                     # # #