Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Symphonic Winds and Wind Ensemble in Concert


JONESBORO – The Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Winds will continue their 2016-2017 concert season on Thursday, Nov. 17, at Arkansas State University.

The concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall, 201 Olympic Dr.

The Symphonic Winds, conducted by Dr. Sarah Labovitz, associate director of bands, will perform a mixture of works from the wind band repertoire. These include “Salute to the Sultan,” a march by Karl King, two standard repertoire pieces, “Color” by Bob Margolis and “Chorale and Alleluia” by Howard Hanson, and a contemporary work, “To the Rubicon,” written by George Sweet in 2015.

The Wind Ensemble, conducted by Dr. Timothy Oliver, director of bands, will begin with Arkansas native composer Steven Bryant’s work, “Ecstatic Fanfare,” conducted by graduate conductor, Jessica Burmingham.

The four-movement masterwork, “Piece of Mind” by Dana Wilson will be next, followed by John Mackey’s “Unquiet Spirits” conducted by graduate conductor Matthew Simpson. The concert will conclude with a piece inspired by Star Trek called “Vulcan,” composed by Michael Daugherty.

Tickets are $5 for the general public, and students are admitted free with their ID.

For more details about this concert or any other A-State music event, one may contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.

# # #

FowlerCenter 031 web
Fowler Center