Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Student Media Collaborations Named Finalists for National Awards


JONESBORO – The Department of Media at Arkansas State University has been notified that several projects have been named as finalists for national awards for the 2019 Intercollegiate Broadcast System College Media Awards that will be announced Saturday, March 1-3, at the 79th  International IBS Conference in New York City.

Larz Roberts, instructor of multimedia journalism and faculty adviser for Red Wolf Radio (RWR), received word from Chris Thomas, president of IBS, finalists from A-State include best community news coverage by RWR as well as best documentary and best spot news.

Finalists also include ASU-TV News for best video newscast and best video news report, produced by Roberts’ news production and performance class for electronic media, along with instructor Alex Brown’s advanced television production class. ASU-TV is a finalist for best video comedy program and best television station promotion.

Finalist for the best community news coverage is from Roberts’ electronic media class in association with instructor Ron Sitton’s multimedia reporting class. The best documentary is a group effort with the race, gender and media class, taught by associate professor and The Heraldadviser Sandra Combs.

Individual students who created and produced the entries are Christopher Lee of Piggott for “Samuel Jones Profile,” Seth Cleveland of Searcy for “Westside Anniversary,” and Kimberely Blackburn of Jonesboro for “Campus Weapons.” Group effort finalists are “Parks and Rec” (best TV station promotion), “Life in the Pack” (best TV talk program), “The Advisor” (best video comedy program), “ASU-TV News” (best video newscast) and “Bi Bi Bi,” (best documentary).

More than 2,700 entries were considered this year. A-State’s Red Wolf Radio won the IBS best documentary and best comedy program in 2017-18.

Arkansas State’s media department gives students the opportunity to work in a professional setting through its student media outlets comprised of Red Wolf Radio, Delta Digital News Service, ASU-TV, and The Herald, the 97-year-old campus newspaper. Delta Digital News Service provides student content to media outlets at no charge. The department officially becomes the School of Media and Journalism on July 1, 2019.

Intercollegiate Broadcasting System, Inc., is a not-for-profit educational association founded in 1940 that serves as an experienced resource for information, action and help for collegiate radio/television stations. The organization honors excellence in programming, air personalities, public service efforts and outstanding stations with the IBS college and high school radio/TV media awards.

A-State logo