Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Student Honors Recital is Convocation of Scholars Highlight


JONESBORO – The Student Honors Recital hosted by the Department of Music will be held during Arkansas State University's Convocation of Scholars on Monday, April 11, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall.  This program is free and open to the public.

Participants this year include Bryant Bewley of Springdale, trumpet; a bassoon quartet featuring members Lane Hall of Salem, Taylor Gambill of Jonesboro, Nathan Liouh of Jonesboro and Brianna Allen of Jonesboro; Christopher Dixon of Eight Mile, Ala., piano; Cody Hutchinson of Jonesboro, euphonium; a brass quintet featuring Eric Jackson of Trumann, Bryant Bewley, Cassie Ferrell of Jonesboro, Nathan Anderson of Sherwood and Drew Jones of Jonesboro; Cody Hutchinson and Molly Stoll of Jonesboro  with a euphonium and marimba/vibraphone duet; Baylee Stracener of Cabot, mezzo-soprano; and Alex Washam of Jonesboro, marimba.

The students will be performing selections by Theo Charlier, Nathan Daughtrey, Eric Ewazen, Francois Poulenc, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, J. Guy Ropartz and Eric Sammut.

The collaborative pianists for the recital are Dr. Lauren Schack Clark and Gianluca Strazzullo.  The students auditioned and were chosen for the concert by a select panel of judges representing the Music Department.

For more information about this concert or any other A-State music event, one may contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.

                                                    # # #

FowlerCenter 031 web
Fowler Center