Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Student Government Officers Elected for 2021-22


JONESBORO —  Arkansas State University students have elected a new slate of student leaders to represent them in the 2021–22 school year.

The new president for A-State’s Student Government Association is Ellie Mayberry, a junior business technology major from Sheridan. The new vice president is Logan Mitchell, a junior global supply chain management and marketing analytics double major, also from Sheridan. Mayberry has served in SGA since January 2019, and Mitchell has served since March 2020.

Other newly elected SGA staff members are chief of staff Gabriela Huerta, a junior biology pre-med major from Little Rock; cultural diversity director Asia Hervey, a sophomore elementary education major from North Little Rock; public relations director Maddyson Lamb, a sophomore exercise science major from Imboden; secretary Casen May, a sophomore political science major from Paragould; and parliamentarian Carlee Bird, a sophomore strategic communications and marketing double major from Manila.

Arkansas State students voted online in the SGA election from 9 a.m. March 17 to 9 a.m. March 18. These student leaders were sworn into office at a Student Government Association meeting this week.

“Our goal will be to really focus on making sure we are the voice of the students and that the students know that. That’s what SGA is for, and we want the student body to know that we are here to serve them, listen to them, and work for them,” said Mayberry.

Arkansas State SGA strives to promote a greater understanding and cooperation with the faculty and administration. SGA works to ensure that the students realize their rights to influence academic policies on the university's campus.

# # #