Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Retiring Faculty Members to be Recognized at Faculty Honors Convocation


JONESBORO -- Six faculty members who are retiring this academic year will be recognized during the annual Faculty Honors Convocation Wednesday for their longtime service to Arkansas State University, according to Dr. Lynita Cooksey, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs.

Faculty Honors Convocation, a highlight of the annual Convocation of Scholars observance at Arkansas State, will be held Wednesday, April 10, beginning at 2 p.m. in the Grand Hall of Fowler Center. The event is open to the public.

“Each of these individuals has made significant contributions to ASU and will be missed by students and colleagues alike,” Dr. Cooksey said. “Their positive impact on the lives of numerous students is immeasurable and will remain as their legacy. They are wished all the best as they begin new journeys beyond the halls of ASU.”

The dean of each retiree’s respective college will highlight the individual’s career at A-State. The retirees will be named to emeritus status and receive a certificate in recognition of their service and contributions to the university.  The president of the Faculty Association, Dr. Julie Isaacson, also will participate in the ceremony.

Those to be recognized and their lengths of service at ASU are:

  • Dr. Nola Christenberry, associate professor of counseling in the College of Education, 24 years.

  • Dr. Thomas Fiala, associate professor of teacher education in the College of Education, 15 years.

  • Dr. Robert Johnson, professor of psychology in the College of Education, 37 years.

  • Dr. Sue McLarry, associate professor of nursing and chair of the School of Nursing in the College of Nursing and Health Professions, 20 years.

  • Dr. Thomas O’Connor, professor of music in the College of Fine Arts, 34 years.

  • Dr. Terry Roach, professor of business communication in the College of Business, 23 years.

Activities during the Honors Convocation also will include the presentation of the Faculty Achievement Awards in teaching, scholarship, service and academic advising. The Faculty Honors Convocation is hosted by the Office of Academic Affairs and Research to celebrate the achievements of Arkansas State’s faculty.

This is one of the major events of the 35th annual Convocation of Scholars celebration at Arkansas State University.

The academic colleges have scheduled awards banquets and ceremonies as follows:

  • Business (guest speaker, Arkansas Speaker of the House Davy Carter of Cabot), 6:30 p.m., April 15;

  • Sciences and Mathematics, 6:30 p.m., April 15;

  • Humanities and Social Sciences, 6 p.m., April 16;

  • Communications (guest speaker, Jeff Hankins, vice president for strategic communications and economic development, ASU System), 6:30 p.m., April 17;

  • Engineering, 6:30 p.m., April 17;

  • University College, 2 p.m., April 18;

  • Agriculture and Technology, 6:30 p.m., April 18;

  • Fine Arts (guest speaker Julia Lansford, emeritus associate professor of music), noon, April 19; - - Nursing and Health Professions, 6 p.m., April 22.

The Diversity Excellence Awards Luncheon will be at noon on April 17, and the Strong-Turner 3.0 and Freshman Scholars Achievement recognition dinner will be at 6:30 p.m. on April 19.

Honor societies and special programs have scheduled various recognition events as follows: Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, 6:30 p.m., April 9; Beta Gamma Sigma induction, 5:30 p.m., April 15; Mossie Richmond-Afak Haydar Scholarship award dinner, 6 p.m., April 15; Kappa Tau Alpha induction, 5:30 p.m., April 17; Lambda Pi Eta induction, 5:30 p.m., April 17; and McNair Program (guest speaker, Carl McNair), 6 p.m., April 25.

Additional details about Convocation of Scholars are available on the university website, http://www.astate.edu/a/scholars/ and the university calendar, http://www.astate.edu/calendar/index.dot.

Nola Christenberry
Nola Christenberry

Thomas Fiala
Thomas Fiala

Robert Johnson
Robert Johnson

Sue McLarry
Sue McLarry

Tom O'Connor
Tom O'Connor

Terry Roach
Terry Roach