Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Phi Beta Lambda Wins 54 Awards at State Conference Competition


JONESBORO – The Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) chapter at Arkansas State University continued its winning tradition by bringing home 54 total awards at the 2019 Arkansas State PBL Leadership Conference and competition recently in North Little Rock. Thirty-five student members advanced to competition at the PBL National Leadership Conference this summer in San Antonio, Texas.

In addition, the A-State organization received first-place honors as the largest chapter with 285 members and third-place for the largest number of professional division members. Dr. Patricia Robertson was named the outstanding local chapter adviser.

In all, Arkansas State collected 22 first-place awards, 15 second-place, nine third-place, three fourth-place and five fifth-place awards. The winning students competed in 40 events. The A-State organization also won Gold Chapter honors.

Brenna Cannon of Mountain Home was selected as the state parliamentarian for 2019-20, and Rachel Washam of Jonesboro was named 2019-20 state president. The pair gives A-State 12state officers elected since 2009.

A-State finishers at the state conference include:

First Place — Armaan Dharani of Jonesboro, accounting for professionals and accounting principles; Bailey Dunn of Marked Tree, Tyrell Andrews of Marked Tree and Dustin Ogden of Manila; Alex Young of Jonesboro and Jordan Womack of Mountain Home, business presentation; Ahad Sanjrani of Dallas, Texas, Jared Barham of Paragould and Matthew Collins of Marion, economic analysis and decision making; Kasey Williams of Jonesboro, emerging business issues; Thomas Hamaker of Hampton, financial analysis and decision making; Ben Tinsley of Jonesboro, financial concepts; Thomas Hamaker of Hampton, future business executive; Worthie Springer of Little Rock, impromptu speaking; Blake Moore of Jonesboro, Case Hall of Walnut Ridge, integrated marketing campaign; Bryston Hickman of Mountain Home, management concepts; Mariah Odom of Marion, marketing concepts; Jacob Walker of Paragould, Ahad Sanjrani of Dallas, Texas and Matthew Collins of Marion, management analysis and decision making; Clayton Liddell of Paragould, programming concepts; Preston Aaron of Walnut Ridge, project management and accounting analysis and decision making; Bryston Hickman of Mountain Home, retail management; Case Hall of Walnut Ridge, sales presentation; Brenna Cannon of Jonesboro, social media campaign; Mariah Odom of Manila, statistical analysis; and Giavanna Berklund, website design.

Second Place — Ben Tinsley of Jonesboro, accounting for professionals; Andrew Davis and Luke Allen, business law; Joel Haynes of Little Rock, computer concepts; J. Mark Lewis of Jonesboro, contemporary sports issues; Giavanna Berklund, desktop publishing; Barbara Martin, financial concepts; Zoe Parsons of Mountain Home, future business executive; Kasey Williams of Jonesboro, help desk; Justin Dent of Jonesboro, macroeconomics; Alex Young of Jonesboro, management concepts; Justin Dent of Jonesboro, microeconomics; Melanie Ricker of Corning, organizational behavior; Brenna Cannon of Jonesboro, Bailey Dunn of Marked Tree, Dustin Ogden of Manila, Rachel Washam of Jonesboro and Alicia Warner of Sulphur Rock, parliamentary procedure team; Naumann Jiwani of Jonesboro, programming concepts; and J. Mark Lewis of Jonesboro, sports management and marketing.

Third Place— Dylan Smith of Walnut Ridge, accounting principles; Alicia Warner of Sulphur Rock and Rachel Washam of Jonesboro, business sustainability; Ben Tinsley of Jonesboro, Melanie Ricker of Corning, Dustin Ogden of Manila and Rachel Washam of Jonesboro; community service project; Ellie Mayberry of Hensley, computer applications; Dylan Smith of Walnut Ridge, contemporary sports issues; Grant Long of Batesville, insurance concepts; Ben Tinsley of Jonesboro, Rachel Washam of Jonesboro and Melanie Ricker of Corning, local chapter annual business report; Barbara Martin, management concepts; and Grant Long of Batesville, marketing concepts.

Fourth Place— Clayton Liddell of Paragould, networking concepts; Quynh Ho of Danang, Vietnam, programming concepts; Melanie Ricker of Corning, statistical analysis.

Fifth Place— Blake Moore of Jonesboro, impromptu speaking; Casey Middlecoff of Market Tree, insurance concepts; Jacob Walker of Paragould, microeconomics; Kyler Brooks of Bald Knob, personal finance; and Worthie Springer of Little Rock, public speaking.

The national conference in San Antonio is Monday through Thursday, June 24-27. Arkansas State’s 35 representatives will compete in 41 of the 62 available events. Members attending are Ben Tinsley, Armaan Dharani, Dylan Smith, Bailey Dunn, Tyrell Andrews, Dustin Ogden, Andrew Davis, Luke Allen, Alex Young, Jordan Womack, Joel Haynes, J. Mark Lewis, Giavanna Berklund, Ahad Sanjrani, Jared Barham, Matthew Collins, Kasey Williams, Thomas Hamaker, Barbara Martin, Zoe Parsons, Worthie Springer, Grant Long, Blake Moore, Case Hall, Justin Dent, Bryston Hickman, Mariah Odom, Jacob Walker, Melanie Ricker, Brenna Cannon, Rachel Washam, Alicia Warner, Naumann Jiwani, Clayton Liddell and Preston Aaron.

Phi Beta Lambda is the college division of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) and provides help and preparation to members for business-related careers. One of the most active branches of the national organization, Arkansas State consistently wins numerous awards each year.