Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Music to Present Honors Recital, Announce Convocation Awards


JONESBORO —  The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will conduct its annual Student Honors Recital during the Convocation of Scholars Monday, April 5.  This year’s Honors Recital will be a virtual event, available at 7:30 p.m. on the Music Department’s YouTube channel.

Participants in this year’s recital are:

Marimba Duo – performing “Songs of the Human Spirit” by Nathan Daughtrey; Trinity Peeler – Wynne, and Carson Shoptaw – Benton

Sydney Rush, clarinet – Jonesboro, performing “Solo de Concour” by André Messager  

Taylor Watkins, tenor – Paragould, performing “Ah! Per Sempre io perdei” from “I Puritani” by Vincenzo Bellini

Isabel Marie Dodds, piano – Conway, performing “Nocturne in D flat Major, Op. 8” by Sergei Mikhailovich Lyapunov

Harrison Bruner, horn – Highland, performing two movements from “Sonata No. 3 for Horn and Piano” by Alec Wilder

Genghong Cai, tenor - Zhaoqing, China, performing “Dein is mein ganzes Herz” from “Das Land des Lächelns” by Franz Lehár

Eric Watson, marimba – Jonesboro, performing “Restless” by Rich O’Meara

Quaine Hogan, tenor – Jonesboro, performing “Questa o Quella” from “Rigoletto” by Giuseppe Verdi

Victoria Brownhill, bass clarinet – Searcy, performing “Drift” by Michael Lowenstern

Zachary Lynn, bassoon – Jonesboro, performing “Bayou Home from Songs for Bassoon and Piano” by William Grant Still

Marimba Duo – performing “Insomnia” by Cody Holmes; Timothy Haney – Benton and Joshua Huffstutler – Paragould
Collaborative pianists for these performances are Hunter Mabery, Lauren Schack Clark, and Dennis Hay.

The students auditioned and were chosen for this concert by a selected panel of judges representing the Department of Music.
The annual Convocation of Scholars awards and privately funded scholarships also be announced.

# # #