Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Music Students Excel in State-level Competition


JONESBORO – Students representing the Department of Music at Arkansas State University recorded very successful results at the Music Teachers National Association's state-level competition.

Josh Hickman of Powell, Tenn., a trumpet student of Dr. Chris Wilson, associate professor of music, won the Young Artist Brass competition.

Zachary Lynn of Jonesboro, a bassoon student of Dr. Dale Clark, instructor in music, was the winner of the Young Artist Woodwind competition.

The Natural State Winds won the Chamber Music Winds competition.  Natural State is a quintet consisting of Caitlyn Lyerly of Jonesboro, flute; Sergio Rodriguez of Greenwood, Miss., oboe; Adam Hartness of Paragould, oboe; Lane Hall of Ash Flat, bassoon; and Connor Scroggins of Malvern, horn.  The group is directed by Dr. Tara Schwab, assistant professor of music.

A second group, the Howlin' Winds, won honorable mention in the Chamber Music Winds category.  Members of the group are Lynlie Simpson of Jonesboro, flute; Caroline Cato of Bryant, oboe; Josh Taylor of Bryant, flute; Brianna Allen of Jonesboro, bassoon; and Brooke Cole of Cherokee Village, horn.  Dr. Juli Buxbaum, assistant professor of music, works with this group.

Two A-State students were the only ones to apply in their respective categories, so they will automatically advance to the division competitions. 

Quaine Hogan of Jonesboro, a tenor, is in the Young Artist Voice division competition.  He studies under Dr. Marika Kyriakos.

Xin Ying Kong of Malaysia, a student of Dr. Lauren Schack Clark, professor of music, is in the Young Artist piano competition.

                                      # # #


Fine Arts Center
Fine Arts Center