Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Music Department to Present Annual Honors Recital


JONESBORO – The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the annual Honors Recital and award ceremony during Convocation of Scholars on Monday, April 9, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall.  Admission is free.

This year’s participants are:

  • Percussion Ensemble: Andrew Coleman of Colt, Timothy Gilbee of Bald Knob, Hannah Irby of Saltillo, Miss., Jesse Lyons of Paragould, and Alex Washam of Jonesboro.
  • Connor Scroggins, horn, of Malvern.
  • Trio for oboe, bassoon and piano: Taylor Gambill, bassoon, of Jonesboro; Xin Ying Kong, piano, of Penang, Malaysia; and Sergio Rodriguez, oboe, of Greenwood, Miss.
  • Quintet for winds and piano: Brianna Allen, bassoon, of Jonesboro; Trevor Asher, oboe, of Jonesboro; Brooke Cole, horn, of Cherokee Village;  Xin Ying Kong, piano, of Penang, Malaysia; and Joshua Taylor, flute, of Benton.
  • Quaine Hogan, tenor, of Jonesboro.
  • Bassoon Quartet: Brianna Allen of Jonesboro, Taylor Gambill of Jonesboro, Lane Hall of Ash Flat, and Zachary Lynn of Jonesboro.
  • Woodwind Quintet: Lane Hall, bassoon, of Ash Flat; Adam Hartness, clarinet, of Paragould; Caitlyn Lyerly, flute, of Jonesboro; Sergio Rodriguez, oboe, of Greenwood, Miss.; and Connor Scroggins, horn, of Malvern.

The students will be performing works by Marc Mellits, W. A. Mozart, Francis Poulenc, Kurt Weill, Karl Kolbinger and Paul Taffanel.  Collaborative pianists for the recital are Dr. Lauren Schack Clark and Emily Trapp Jenkins.  Students auditioned and were chosen for the performance by a selected panel of judges representing the music faculty.

For more details about this concert or any other A-State music event, contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.

                                               # # #

FowlerCenter 031 web
Fowler Center