Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Multimedia Students, Outlets Win Awards in Contest


JONESBORO - Arkansas State University's multimedia journalism students and outlets won 20 awards in the 2020 Arkansas College Media Association's media contest.

A-State's Red Wolf Radio won the general excellence award as Radio Outlet of the Year. ASU-TV News took second in general excellence for Television Outlet of the Year and The Herald took second in general excellence for Website of the Year.

"This has been a hard year for everyone involved with Red Wolf Radio and ASU-TV News," adviser Larz Roberts said. "The fact that these young people were able to adjust and push forward with media content worthy of these honors speaks to their talent and work ethic as well as the program. 

"I'm proud of every last one of these students. It's a tangible sign that they're going to go on to do big things. The school and the university can stick their chests out with pride. I know I am." 

Sandra L. Combs, adviser to The Herald, said she appreciated recognition for the student work.

"Our small staff works hard to produce print and online content that the students and A-State community want and need to know," she said. "We are happy the staff was recognized for doing some great journalism while working on completing their degrees. During a time in our society when even student journalists are sometimes berated, winning a state award can encourage them to continue to pursue, report and write the truth."

Individual students also earned recognition as representatives of the three student media outlets. 

First-place winners include:
Jessica Ladd of Dexter, Mo., Television Anchor of the Year.
Jessica Ladd, Interpretive/Investigative, for "911."
Krishnan Collins of North Little Rock, Online Sports Writing, for "Bayless and a Strong Defensive Performance Lead A-State Past Texas State."
Chase Gage of Brookland and  Nicholas Smith of Detroit, Mich., Best Sports Show, for "Under Review with Chase and Nico."
Sarah Brown of Paragould, Best Specialty Music Show, for "Eclectic Corner."
Hannah Risker of Paragould, Best Radio Documentary, for "TMI: Michael Gray."
Nathan Luyet of Bigelow, Best Interview or Talk Show, for "Overland Talk of the Delta."

Second-place winners include:
Krishnan Collins, Newspaper Sports Writing, for "Esports Sweeps Campus and Explores Unknown Territory."
Krishnan Collins, Newspaper Sports Feature, for "Restrepo Battles Adversity in Life and Soccer."
Krishnan Collins, Online Sports Writing, for "1-0 to the Red Wolves Once Again in Jonesboro as A-State Downs Little Rock."
Briana Hardiman of Magnolia, Best Specialty Music Show, for "The Groove."

Third-place finishers are:
Krishnan Collins, Newspaper Editor of the Year. 
Krishnan Collins, Newspaper Sports Page Layout.
Krishnan Collins, Online Sports Writing, for "O’Boye Scores, Red Wolves Win 1-0; Typical Brilliance from A-State Soccer." 
Jessica Ladd, Television Feature, for "Marybeth Byrd."
Hannah Von Brimer of Little Rock, Best Specialty Music Show, for "Theatrical Thursday."

Honorable Mentions are:
Brooke Buckner of Little Rock, Television Sports Feature, for "behind the scenes."

Dr. Brad Rawlins, director of the School of Media and Journalism, said the awards indicate growth by student journalists.

"Our multimedia journalism students continue to shine in their efforts to report stories of interest and importance to our communities," he said. "Under the direction of our experienced and inspiring faculty, the students operating the news outlets in the School of Media and Journalism are growing in their abilities as professionals to perform the important task of keeping society informed.  I'm proud of them and I hope these awards inspire them to continue to develop their talents to meet this critical function."

Seventeen national collegiate media advisers judged 656 entries from state college media outlets for the contest. A complete list of winners can be found on the Arkansas College Media Association's website (http://arkcma.wordpress.com). 

Originally scheduled to be held April 3 at Arkansas State University, ACMA's annual spring convention and awards banquet was cancelled due to COVID-19 precautions. The convention and awards banquet will return to Jonesboro in spring 2021.