Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Living Legends Award Recipients Recognized during Black History Month


JONESBORO – Five individuals were recognized Saturday as recipients of the Living Legends Award during the online Black History Month celebration at Arkansas State University.

The five recipients for 2021 are:

  • Larry Bryant, who is the first elected Black mayor of Forrest City;

  • Victor Hill, who is a retired from A-State where he served as a financial aid counselor;

  • Robbie Lyle, who is a retired director of TRIO Programs and assistant dean of University College at A-State;

  • Earline Smith, retired Jonesboro Public School educator and member of the family for which The Circle is named;

  • Peggy Wright, an instructor in political science at A-State and activist for affordable housing.

Each individual was recognized for their contributions and leadership, especially in keeping with this year’s theme of “Black Activism: Then, Now and the Future.”

# # #