Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Liberal Arts and Communication Recognizes Top Graduates of 2018


JONESBORO – This year's most outstanding graduating students in the College of Liberal Arts and Communication were honored with awards during the 40th annual Convocation of Scholars at Arkansas State University, according to Dr. Carl Cates, dean.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Nathan Johnson of North Little Rock, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Arts degree in communication studies.   The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest cumulative gradepoint average in the college.

Kiera Payne of Doniphan, Mo., and Angela Wilbanks of Harrisburg, along with Johnson, received the 4.0 Scholar Award.  In the event of a tie, the Chancellor's Scholar is the student who has completed the most credit hours.

The award recipients and their respective degree programs are (by academic department):


Guy Riggins of Maynard, Bachelor of Arts (BA), communication studies, and Robert Morris of Jacksonville, Bachelor of Science (BS), strategic communication;

Criminology, Sociology, and Geography

Ian Lowe of Tumbling Shoals, BA, criminology; Patricia Burleigh of Yellville, BA, sociology; Natallie Jemmott of Jonesboro, Master of Arts (MA), criminology; and Anita Marshall of Hot Springs, MA, sociology.

English, Philosophy and World Languages

MaryKate Jones of Monticello, Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), English; Faunia Cofre-Unnold of Jonesboro, BSE, Spanish; Angela Wilbanks of Harrisburg, BA, English; Lane Allensworth of Paragould, BA, philosophy; Lauren Owen of Paragould, BA, Spanish; Bethany Gallimore Seaton of Hot Springs and Rae Thompson of Wynne, MA, English; and Audrey Belton of Ripley, Tenn., MSE, English.


Kelsey DeFord of Trumann, BSE, social science; Tara Loperano of Jonesboro and Spenser Sullivan of Paragould, BA, history; Colton Adkisson of Walnut Ridge and Ryan Smith of Jonesboro, MA, history; and Edward Harthorn of Walnut Ridge, MA, global history.  Adkisson, Smith and Harthorn also shared honors as recipients of the Dr. John Galloway Award for outstanding graduate student.


Tucker Crain of Jonesboro, BS, multimedia journalism (emphasis in news-editorial); Heidi Sohl of Alexander, BS, media (emphasis in creative media production).


Devlin Deveney of Jonesboro and Lynlie Simpson of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Music Education (BME), instrumental music; Kiera Payne of Doniphan, Mo., BME, vocal music; Crystal Kachevas of Paragould, Bachelor of Music (BM), vocal performance; and Samantha Holt of Jonesboro, BA, music.

Political Science

Reagan Williams of Auburn Hills, Mich., BA, political science; Michael Dabney of Marked Tree, MA, political science; Ali Alghofaili of Jonesboro, Master of Public Administration (MPA); and Sue Neal of Rochester, Minn., MPA, online program.


Irene Taylor of Birdtown, Bachelor of Arts (BA) in theatre.

                                                     # # #