Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Liberal Arts and Communication Names 2019-20 Top Graduates


JONESBORO – The names of this year's most outstanding graduating students in the College of Liberal Arts and Communication at Arkansas State University have been announced, according to Dr. Carl Cates, dean.  These awards are normally presented during Convocation of Scholars, which had to be cancelled this year because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Connor Scroggins of Malvern, who will graduate in May with a Bachelor of Music degree. The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student in the college with the highest cumulative gradepoint average.

Noah Ford of Searcy, Claire Hulett of Jonesboro, Alyssa Perry of Cabot, along with Scroggins, received the 4.0 Scholar Award.  In the event of a tie, the Chancellor's Scholar is the student who has completed the most credit hours.

The departmental award recipients and their respective degree programs are (by academic department):

Art + Design

Kaly Ishee of Pangburn, Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA), studio art; Calley Dunnihoo of West Plains, Mo., BFA, graphic design; Mykala Smith of Pocahontas, BFA, art education; Timothy Arquitt of Lake City, BFA, digital design.


Steven Holmquist of Roland and Zoey Smith of Alexander, Bachelor of Arts (BA), communication studies; Shawna Martin of Gassville, Bachelor of Science (BS), strategic communication; and Abbigail Singer of Kansas City, Mo., BS, strategic communication, online program.

Criminology, Sociology and Geography

Sydney Morgan of Crossett, BA, criminology; Annica Karlsson of Vantaa, Finland, BA, sociology; Trey Sykes of Little Rock, Master of Arts (MA), criminal justice; and Robert McCord of Jonesboro, MA, sociology.

English, Philosophy and World Languages

Maggie Smith of Gatewood, Mo., and Adrienne LaSage of Benton, Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), English; Rayna Todd of Camden, BA, English; Kaitlin Fielder of Batesville, BA, philosophy; Alberto Segovia of Dardanelle, BA, Spanish; Jesse Matlock of Malvern, MA, English; and Nicole Johnson of Jonesboro, MSE, English.


Nathaniel Grimes of Grapevine, BA, history; Kyle Walker of Jonesboro, BSE, social science; and Tara Loperano of Jonesboro, MA, history.


Hope McAlee of McRae, BS, creative media production; Brooke Buckner of Little Rock, BS, multimedia journalism.


Alyssa Perry of Cabot, Bachelor of Music Education (BME), instrumental music; Olivia Adams Sanders of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Music Education (BME), vocal music; and Connor Scroggins of Malvern, Bachelor of Music (BM), composition.

Political Science

Peyton Knight of Hamburg, BA, political science; Emily Noel of Paragould, MA, political science; Ayat Bugshan of Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, Master of Public Administration (MPA); and Lauren Whitby of Scottsdale, Ariz., MPA, online program.


Hayley Scott of North Little Rock, Bachelor of Arts (BA) in theatre.

# # #