Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Honors College 2022-2023 Graduating Seniors to be Recognized at Reception


JONESBORO – The Honors College at Arkansas State University will host the 14th annual Honors Recognition Ceremony and Reception at 4 p.m., Friday, May 5, in Cooper Alumni Center, 2600 Alumni Blvd.

A group of 165 graduating Honors students will be recognized in the company of their parents, families, guests and university dignitaries. Graduation distinctions for each student are listed below.

Graduating seniors Nathan May of Newport, Kyra Dobson of Wynne, and Claire Greene of Conway will make remarks on behalf of their Honors peers at the ceremony.

In addition, the Honors Professor of the Year 2023 will be announced. Honors students nominate professors and vote to select the recipient.

There are three distinctions in graduating from the Honors College — Graduating in University Honors, Graduating in Honors, and earning the Honors Certificate.

Graduating in University Honors

Those designated 'Graduating in University Honors' have successfully defended an Honors senior thesis, completed a minimum of 24 credit hours in Honors coursework, and are graduating with a 3.50 or higher cumulative GPA. This distinction is recognized on their diplomas and academic transcripts.  These students also receive a gold Honors medallion and recognition certificate.

Those graduating in University Honors are (in alpha order by hometown):

Riley Sisson of Bald Knob, Raven Raleigh of Batesville, Keelin Fullen of Bauxite, Robert Smith and Riley Swafford, both of Beebe, Mason Rhodes of Benton, Madison Terrell of Blytheville, Madison Betz of Bryant, Melanie Fortson and Kaleb Webb, both of Cabot, Elizabeth Moore of Chester, Claire Greene of Conway, Madison Eastburn of Eureka Springs, Brittney Ammons, Loretta Lyon, Hannah Seats, Carolyn Seglem, and Taylor Watkins, all of Jonesboro, Benjamin Whitfield of Little Rock, Emma Farmer of Paragould, Juliana Griffith of Pocahontas, Taylor Adams of Ravenden Springs, Connor Young of Sherwood, Kori Denison of Southside, Jessica Marston of Ward, Kyra Dobson of Wynne, Sydney Stauffer of Millstadt, Ill., Katherine Willis of Blue Springs, Mo., and William Fielding Belk of Collierville, Tenn.

Graduating in Honors

Students 'Graduating in Honors' have completed a minimum of 18 credit hours in Honors coursework and are graduating with a 3.50 or higher cumulative grade point average.  This distinction is recognized on their diplomas and their academic transcripts. These students also receive a silver Honors medallion and recognition certificate.

Those graduating in Honors are:

Christopher Fuller of Alexander, Lauren Fry of Beech Grove, Johnathon Ashcraft, Marilee Elliott, Caitlin Ginther, Timothy Haney, Kaitlyn Roberts, and Katherine Terry, all of Benton, Halle Rich of Bono, Curtis Burnett of Brinkley, Gabrielle Fife of Camden, Amelia Counts of Cave City,  Katelyn Caldwell, Alexa Cormier, Grace Hill, Kendra Lea, Michala Matthews, and Anna Reed, all of Conway, Sydney Blankenship and Larson Rainey, both of Crossett, Matthew Beachy and Aiyana Dawson, both of Fort Smith, Terah Grimes of Grapevine, Sarah Duffy and Jared Duncan, both of Harrisburg, Rebecca Wertenberger and Matilda Young, both of Hot Springs, Zachary Duerr, Drake Gross, Cameron Hafner, Cori Hufstedler, Thomasina Huggins, Daniel Jackson, Jeffrey Lindsey III, Adriana Mancilla, Montgomery Miller, Roxana Flores Munoz, Connor Rawls, Sarah Roberson, Rebecca Roberts, Hannah Taylor, and MaryJayne Umeora, all of Jonesboro, Tiffany Fulcher of Lake City, Peyton Clark, Catherine Finne, Katherine McLaurin, and Lindsey Yarbrough, all of Little Rock, Nicholas Tate of Lonoke, Briley Brothers, Justin Davenport, Alexis Henry, Alexandria Inman, and Rachel Wilson, all of Marion, Scout Weatherford of Marmaduke and Joel Gaffney of Mayflower.

Others graduating in Honors are Kelsey Rohr of Mountain Home, Brody King of Nashville, Nathan May of Newport, Shelby Blankenship, Tralee Ellington, Carlie Glass, Olivia Jett, Sadie Millay, Elizabeth Noel, Jessie Thompson, and Fisher Wood, all of Paragould, Amanda Sakalares of Rogers, Shannon Stewart of Scott, Ashley Watson, and Clayton Willis, both of Searcy, Brendan Crutchfield of Sheridan, Alison Allgood, Brandon Bates, and Haylee Price, all of Sherwood, Joseph Schroeder of Siloam Springs, Jaden Berry of Southside, Ryan Davis of Star City, Laurel Gaither of Walnut Ridge, Malia Gillum of West Memphis, Riley Bethell of Wynne, Savannah Williams of Demopolis, Ala., Mary Schultz of Milton, Fla., Brooke Goldhammer of Spaulding, Ill., Alyssa Nelson of Goddard, Kan., Jerry Nix of Greenville, Miss., Audrey Alpha of Olive Branch, Miss., Larkin Gardiner of Water Valley, Miss., Emily Peters of Campbell, Mo., Ellie Foote of Jackson, Mo., Julie Lancaster of Malden, Mo., Maria Bollinger of Stillwater, Okla., Emily Burke of Arlington, Tenn., Emily Cooper, Rebecca French, Kathryn Lambert, and Allison Peavy, all of Collierville, Tenn., Ashley Carter of Jackson, Tenn., Katherine Butler of Medina, Tenn., Sydni Leung and Eva Wilk, both of Plano, Texas, Izzeldin Ahmed of Tuti, Sudan, and Hitomi Naoi of Chiba, Japan.

Students earning the Honors Certificate

Those earning an Honors Certificate have completed a minimum of 18 credit hours in Honors coursework and are graduating with a 3.00 or higher cumulative grade point average. These students are presented with a certificate in recognition of their accomplishment.

Those earning the Honors Certificate are:

Jacob Oster of Bay, Kristina Garlington of Benton, Ian Holloway of Bryant, Maddie Lubinski and Haden Yancey, both of Cabot, Emilee Davis of Cave City, Tyler Tollett of Fayetteville, Johnna Berryhill of Gosnell, Marlie Hufstedler of Imboden, Courtney Dover, Alexandra Gibson, Rachel Hakenewerth, Jacob Henry, Joshua Householder, Jessalyn Johnson, Sara Ledesma, Sydney Rush, Ethan Scurlock and Bailey Tagupa, all of Jonesboro, Kaitlyn Disedare of Magnolia, Sara Rutledge of Marion, Larry Turner of North Little Rock, Caleb Adams of Pangburn, Taylor Copeland, Brianna Kriske, and Delphia Ward, all of Paragould, Hugh Miller of Sherwood, Mackenzie Poe of Star City, Drake Jumper of Trumann, Kaitlyn Peavy of Tuckerman, Laura Bean of Detroit, Mich., Laura Beth Grissom of Olive Branch, Miss., Madison Reed of Mountain Grove, Mo., and Wells Myers of Medina, Tenn.

Honors medals photo