Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Four ASU radio-television students win awards at National Broadcast Society regional competition


JONESBORO, Ark. — Four students who are majoring in radio-television at Arkansas State University put what they have learned to the test and came up winners at the National Broadcast Society Southeast Regional Competition in Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas earlier this month.

The four students, Kurt Kamphausen of Little Rock; Xinzhong Zhao of Urumqi, China; Marcela Tapia of Mexico City, Mexico; and Cody Dertow of Houston, Texas, all captured first-place awards in the college competition for their packages in radio and television.

“These four worked extremely hard to prepare their packages for competition and their efforts were appropriately rewarded with first place finishes,” said Dr. Michael Bowman, assistant professor of radio-television and advisor for ASU’s chapter of the National Broadcasting Society-Alpha Epsilon Rho. “I’m extremely proud of Kurt, Xinzhong, Marcela, and Cody.  They exemplify the high caliber student in the College of Communications.”

Kamphausen, a senior, won first place in the news feature and honorable mention in the open video categories. In the drama classification, Zhao, also a senior, was awarded first place, and Tapia won first in the promotion category. All are radio-television majors. Dertow a senior R-TV broadcast journalism major, achieved first place in the best sports package division.

The National Broadcasting Society-Alpha Epsilon Rho is a student and professional society of over 85 chapters on college, university, community college and high school campuses. 

This competition was founded in 1962 to recognize those students who excelled in radio and television production and programming. Now, the competition encourages and rewards students for accomplishments in audio, video, scriptwriting, web development, as well as academic research and writing. 

The purpose of NBS-AERho is to encourage and reward scholarship and accomplishment among students of broadcasting, to establish meaningful communication between student and professional broadcasters and to foster integrity in the use of the instruments of radio, television, film, cable and its many associated businesses and industries.