Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Four Alums, First Professor of Military Science to be Inducted into ROTC Hall of Heroes


JONESBORO – The Department of Military Science continues its 80th anniversary celebration of the ROTC program at Arkansas State University this evening with induction of five new members into its Hall of Heroes, according to Lt. Col. Michael Fellure, professor of military science.

The Veterans Day event at the Military Science Building, 1921 Aggie Road, also will recognize the 100th anniversary of the U.S. Army Cadet Command.  ROTC began at Arkansas State in the fall of 1936 and has continued to prepare men and women for leadership roles and military service.

Retired Lt. Col. Dave Grossman, who taught at West Point and served as professor of military science at A-State 1992-1995, will be the featured speaker for the evening's festivities.

This is Arkansas State's first Veterans Day as a Purple Heart University, as proclaimed by Chancellor Doug Whitlock in October.  Arkansas State will make special commendation to Purple Heart veterans as a part of Heroes Day at A-State, Saturday, Nov. 12.  Plans call for a special recognition on the field for student and alumni Purple Heart recipients, as well as Purple Heart recipients from the Jonesboro community.

The new inductees, all of whom will be recognized for distinguished military careers, are:

  • Col. William Edward Corkill (recognized posthumously), the first professor of military science and tactics at Arkansas State, from 1936 to 1940.  Corkill was a veteran of World War I and World War II, a POW who survived the Bataan Death March, and recipient of the Silver Star and Legion of Merit.
  • Brig. Gen. Wendul Glenn Hagler II, a native of Sikeston, Mo., and a 1988 A-State graduate.  Hagler serves at the National Guard Bureau as a special assistant to the director of the Army National Guard and received the Defense Superior Service Medal.
  • Retired Col. Ronald E. Powell, a native of Memphis and a 1967 A-State graduate.  A doctor of osteopathic medicine, Powell served as state surgeon and chief medical officer for the Mississippi Army National Guard and is a recipient of the Legion of Merit award.
  • Retired Brig. Gen. David L. Smalley, a native of Forrest City and a 1973 A-State graduate.  Smalley is a former U.S. Army Assistant Surgeon General and Distinguished Service Medal recipient.
  • Retired Col. Timothy R. Williams, a native of Harrisburg and a 1984 A-State graduate.  Williams was a Special Forces officer and received the Defense Superior Service Medal with one oak leaf cluster.

With the five new additions, the Hall of Heroes will now have 79 members.

# # #

Red Wolf Battalion