Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Five Outstanding Employees Selected for Staff Wall of Honor


Panel of 5 Staff Members

JONESBORO – The names of five staff members whose job performance at Arkansas State University has been judged exemplary by their peers are being added to the Staff Wall of Honor.

Continuing a tradition that began with the university's Centennial, the Staff Senate will honor the five, the first added since the initial group of 100 was recognized in 2010, at a public reception Wednesday, Aug. 12.  The reception is set for 2-3 p.m. in the Alumni Lounge, third floor, Carl R. Reng Student Union.

"The Staff Senate is excited about the opportunity to recognize the next generation of outstanding staff at A-State," said Nikki Turner, president of Staff Senate.  "There are so many employees who work tirelessly to bring great service to our students and faculty.  I believe that the committee has selected an excellent group of staff members who represent well the many different jobs and services that our staff provides every day."

The staff members to be recognized are:

* Phareta Calkin, institutional printer, Printing Services

* Angela Daniels, technology director, Campus Life Office, Student Affairs

* Dotty Foley, procurement technician, Procurement and Travel Services (posthumous award)

* Jerrod Lockhart, director, Student Support Services, University College

* Dr. David R. McKinney, director, Parking Services

In letters of nomination, the honorees were cited for a variety of attributes, such as their professionalism, dedication to student success, loyalty to the institution, volunteer service, client satisfaction, leadership and mentorship of staff colleagues.

The new selection process is titled “Continuing the Tradition -- The Second 100.” The Senate plans to select five additional staff members for recognition every five years. The recognition plaque is mounted in the Student Union. 

Nominations were invited from current and retired staff.  Nominees were former, retired or current A‑State staff who completed at least 10 years of service by June 30, 2015 and at least part of their term of service is in the institution's second century.

The selection committee consisted of some current and former Staff Senate members, and previous honorees.  The committee visited each honoree to notify him or her of their award.

"We are very pleased to honor their hard work, and we hope that everyone will join us to celebrate them at the reception on Aug. 12," Turner added.

# # #