Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Faculty Promotions, Tenure Appointments Announced


JONESBORO – Twenty-five faculty members at Arkansas State University have been promoted and/or been awarded tenure effective with the new academic year, announced Dr. Lynita Cooksey, provost and vice chancellor for Academic Affairs and Research.

The Board of Trustees approved recommendations from the Promotion, Retention and Tenure Committee and university administration.  Grouped by academic college, those promoted are noted with their new academic rank, and those awarded tenure are marked with an asterisk (*):

Agriculture and Technology

* Jianfeng Xu, agriculture

Education and Behavioral Science

* Audrey Bowser-Brown, secondary education and technology

* Sharon J. Davis, counseling

* Julie Grady, teacher education

* Zelda McMurtry, early childhood education

Amy R. Pearce, to professor, psychology

Karen L. Yanowitz, to professor, psychology


* Brandon Kemp, to associate professor, engineering

* Shubha Kher, to associate professor, engineering

Fine Arts

* Timothy P. Bohn, to associate professor, theatre

Lauren Schack Clark, to professor, music

* Marika Kyriakos, to professor, music

* John Harlan Norris, to associate professor, art

John Edward Owen Jr., to professor, music

* Christopher Wilson, to associate professor, music

Humanities and Social Sciences

* Veena S. Kulkarni, to associate professor, sociology

Media and Communication

* Sandra L. Combs, journalism

* Holly Kathleen Hall, to associate professor, journalism

* Po-Lin Pan, to associate professor, radio-television

* Matthew Thatcher, communication studies

Nursing and Health Professions

* J. Stephen Guffey, to professor, physical therapy

Elizabeth Nix, to associate professor, nursing

Sciences and Mathematics

* Travis D. Marsico, to associate professor, Biological Sciences

* Paul Sikkel, to associate professor, Biological Sciences

* Hong Zhou, to associate professor, statistics

# # #