Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Faculty Members Approved for Promotions and Tenure


JONESBORO – Thirteen faculty members at Arkansas State University have been promoted in academic rank and 10 have attained tenure, announced Dr. Alan Utter, provost and executive vice chancellor for Academic Affairs and Research.

The ASU Board of Trustees approved recommendations from the Promotion, Retention and Tenure Committee and university administration.  The actions are effective July 1 with the beginning of the 2020-21 academic year.

“I wish to personally congratulate each of our faculty who have earned tenure and/or promotion,” Utter added.  “We are very fortunate to have each of them as part of our faculty here at Arkansas State University.”

Faculty who were promoted to professor and their respective academic areas are Dr. Jianfeng Xu, agriculture; Dr. Gauri Shankar Guha, economics; Dr. Ryan Kelly, reading; Dr. Kwangkook Jeong, mechanical engineering; Dr. Hong Zhou, statistics; and Dr. David F. Gilmore, environmental biology.

Seven faculty members were promoted to associate professor and approved for tenure.  They are Dr. Manu Bhandari, strategic communication; Dr. Kellie Buford, history; Dr. Joseph Rukus, sociology; Dr. Edward Salo, history; Dr. Christina Akbari, communication disorders; Dr. Lisa Rice, mathematics education; and Dr. Brook Fluker, aquatic ecology.

Three additional faculty members also attained tenure.  They are Dr. Sharon D. James, management; Dr. Matthew D. Hill, finance; and Shanon Brantley, communication disorders.

# # #

University Logo