Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Faculty Conference to Open 2020-21 Academic Year


JONESBORO – The annual Fall Faculty Conference Wednesday at Arkansas State University will bring members of the academic community together, virtually this time, to formally begin the 2020-21 year.

To maintain protocols due to the coronavirus pandemic, the conference will be livestreamed beginning at 8:30 a.m.  The livestream will originate in Centennial Hall with a select audience, while most faculty will watch via livestream at AState.edu/Livestream.

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Alan Utter will welcome the faculty to the conference, which is hosted each year by the Division of Academic Affairs and Research, and also make a presentation on the university's plans for the fall semester under the "Return to Learn" initiative.

System President Charles L. Welch and A-State Chancellor Kelly Damphousse also will address the faculty.  Other speakers will include Executive Vice Chancellor Len Frey, Faculty Association President Donna Caldwell, and Assistant Vice Chancellor Lori Winn.

A special feature of this year's Faculty Conference will be recognition of the annual Faculty Achievement Award recipients, retirees, those individuals achieving years of service milestones.  These Faculty Honors Convocation recognitions, normally conducted during Convocation of Scholars, were postponed in April.

New faculty will participate in orientation sessions today.  College and departmental meetings are scheduled for Thursday and Friday across campus.

# # #