Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Faculty Achievement Awards ceremony held April 10 honored faculty achievement, retirees


As part of ASU's Convocation of Scholars week, the Faculty Achievement Awards ceremony was held April 10, at 2 p.m., in Centennial Hall at the Carl R. Reng Student Union. ASU offers four awards, presented each spring to four faculty members who have demonstrated exceptional achievement, as determined by their peers, in teaching, scholarship, professional service, and advising. Only full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty members are eligible for the awards. The awards are based upon faculty achievement during the preceding calendar year.

Dr. Rollin F. Tusalem, Political Science, was the winner of this year’s Faculty Achievement Award for Teaching. Also nominated were Dr. Lance Bryant, Physical Education and Prof. William Payne, Clinical Laboratory Sciences. Dr. John A. Beineke, Educational Leadership, Curriculum, and Special Education/History, was this year’s recipient of the Faculty Achievement Award for Scholarship. Also nominated were Dr. Gary T. Edwards, History, and Dr. Gauri Bhattacharya, Social Work. Dr. Dixie Keyes, Teacher Education, was the recipient of this year’s Faculty Achievement Award for Professional Service. Also nominated were Dr. Monika Ulrich, Sociology, and Prof. Becky Keith, Physical Therapy. Dr. Robert D. Engelken, Electrical Engineering, was this year’s recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Advising Award.  

In addition, five retiring faculty members were honored for their service to ASU. They were Dr. Charles W. Hartwig, Political Science, Dr. Louella Moore, Accounting, Dr. Charles R. Carr, Philosophy, Dr. Carol O’Connor, History, who also served as interim dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, and Dr. Robert Baum, Spanish.