Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Faculty Achievement Award winners, retirees honored in special ceremony April 12


Four faculty members at Arkansas State University were presented with the 2011 Faculty Achievement Awards and the Outstanding Academic Advising Award in a special ceremony held on Tuesday, April 12, as part of ASU’s annual
Convocation of Scholars week. In addition, eight faculty members were recognized for their years of service to the university.

Dr. Kate Krueger Henderson, English and Philosophy, is the recipient of this year’s award for Teaching. Dr. Doris Chu, Criminology, Sociology and Geography, is the recipient of the Faculty Achievement Award for Scholarship; and Dr. John D. Hall, Psychology and Counseling, is the recipient of the Faculty Achievement Award for Professional Service. Dr. Ruth Owens, World Languages and Cultures, is the recipient of the Outstanding Academic Advising Award.

In addition, eight university faculty members were honored for their time and service to ASU. They are Dr. Tom Baglan, professor and chair of the Department of Communication Studies in the College of Communications; Ms. Gloria Bridges, instructor in First Year Programs, University College; Dr. William Clements, professor of English and Folklore, Department of English and Philosophy in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences; Dr. Daniel Cline, professor of Education, Center for Excellence in Education, College of Education; Dr. Charles Coleman, instructor of Mechanical Engineering, Director of the Technology Program, College of Engineering; LTC Jeffrey Helms, Professor of Military Science, Reserve Officer Training Corps, Military Science; Ms. Barbara Knuckles, instructor in First year Programs, University College; and Ms. Jannie Trautwein, director of Rural Institute for Math/Science Education, College of Education.

The Faculty Achievement Awards for Teaching, Professional Service, and Scholarship and the Outstanding Academic Advising Award are presented each spring to four faculty members who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in teaching, professional service, scholarship, and advising, as determined by their peers.

Nominations were made in the four categories. Only full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty members are eligible for the awards. The awards are based upon faculty achievement during the preceding calendar year.