Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Excellence in Diversity Awards Presented during Convocation of Scholars


Nora Bouzihay

Christopher Crutchfield

Amber Yates

JONESBORO – Three individuals and three organizations that have made significant contributions toward advancing a more diverse environment at Arkansas State University and the Jonesboro community were recognized as recipients of the 2022 Excellence in Diversity Awards during a Convocation of Scholars ceremony.

The Excellence in Diversity Awards program highlights individuals and organizations who have demonstrated the highest commitment to advancing diversity and inclusion over the past year, according to Dr. Lonnie Williams, vice chancellor for the Division of Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement at A-State.

The award recipients this year are:

* Christopher Crutchfield of North Little Rock – Champion of Diversity Award

* Sigma Iota Alpha Sorority, Inc. – Champion of Diversity Award

* Amber Yates of Salem – Student Excellence in Diversity Award

* Nora Bouzihay, assistant director of Multicultural Affairs – Faculty/Staff Excellence in Diversity Award

* Student Diversity & Recruitment Team – Excellence in Diversity Award

* El Centro Hispano – Community Excellence in Diversity Award

Recipients of the Diversity Awards are selected by a university committee from among a slate of nominations from across campus.  Additional details about the Excellence in Diversity Awards program and award criteria are available online.

Sigma Iota Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Student Diversity & Recruitment Team

El Centro Hispano