Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Engineering Awards Presented during Convocation of Scholars


JONESBORO – Four students in the College of Engineering at Arkansas State University were recognized during a Convocation of Scholars honors ceremony Monday evening as the most outstanding graduates, according to Dr. Paul Mixon, interim dean.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award recipient was Logan Wilson of Piggott, a mechanical engineering major.  The Chancellor’s Scholar in each college is the graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average.

The departmental awards are presented annually to the top graduating senior in each of the academic degree programs.

The award recipients and their respective programs were:

  • Stephen Shatzer of Jonesboro, civil engineering;
  • Saoud Ba Maqiredh of Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, electrical engineering; and
  • Corey Bevis of Jonesboro, mechanical engineering.

# # #