Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Engineering and Computer Science Presents Top 2019-20 Awards


JONESBORO – Twenty students in the College of Engineering and Computer Science at Arkansas State University have been announced as the most outstanding graduating students, according to Dr. Abhijit Bhattacharyya, dean.  Normally these awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars, but the annual event was not held this year due to the pandemic.

Undergraduate and graduate students in engineering and computer science were recognized for outstanding achievement.

Rocklan McCall of Lake City received the Chancellor’s Scholar Award, given to the graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average in the college.  McCall and Rebecca Chen of Jonesboro received the 4.0 Scholar Award for having a perfect gradepoint average.  When there is a tie, the Chancellor's Scholar award goes to the student with the most credit hours.

The departmental awards are presented annually to the top graduating senior in each of the academic degree programs.

The Outstanding Student Award recipients and their respective degree programs are: Loc Duc Ho of Jonesboro, BS, computer science; Daiki Itoh of Japan, BA, computer science; Omar Alhallak of Saudi Arabia, BSE, civil engineering; Rebecca Chen of Jonesboro, BS, mechanical engineering; Rocklan McCall of Lake City, BS, electrical engineering; and Thomas P. Hickam of Jacksonville, BS, technology.

The Citizenship Award recipients and their respective degree programs are: Roth In of Forrest City, BS, computer science; Sara Ford of Paragould, BS, civil engineering; Kyler Dickey of Batesville, BS, electrical engineering; Brian Hufty of Rector, BS, mechanical engineering.

The graduate program students who attained a 4.0 grade point average within their respective programs received Outstanding Student Award certificates.  Those recognized were:

Master of Science in Computer Science: Trang Minh Tran of Vietnam, Jialu Ma of China, Debrath Banerjee of India, and Brandon Sims of Paragould.

Master of Science in Engineering: Tamal Sarkar of Bangladesh and Nathaniel Bryce Blevins of Lamar.

Master of Engineering Management: Sabrina Dahlke of Franklin, Ky., Chelsey Roberts of Paragould, Paige Smith of Broken Arrow, Okla., and James Chidester of Austin.

The college conducted an online graduation celebration Friday, May 15, during which time these students and others were recognized.

# # #

University Logo