Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Engineering and Computer Science Awards Presented at Convocation of Scholars


JONESBORO – The College of Engineering and Computer Science at Arkansas State University presented graduating student awards during a Convocation of Scholars awards ceremony Tuesday, according to Dr. Abhijit Bhattacharyya, dean of the college.

Jackson Chrestman of Jonesboro received the Chancellor’s Scholar Award and 4.0 Scholar Award as the college’s graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average. He will graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in computer science.

Departmental awards were presented to the top graduating seniors within each of the academic degree programs. These awards include the Citizenship Award and the Outstanding Student Award.

The Citizenship Award is presented to a student within each degree program who demonstrates great leadership, character and departmental and community involvement.

The recipients are Shota Kato of Japan, Bachelor of Science (BS) in computer science; Nathan Raath of South Africa, BS in engineering technology; Zackary Overton of Bryant, BS in engineering management systems; Madison Walker of Tuckerman, Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering (BSCE); Nicolas Palacios of Cabot, Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering (BSEE); Jeannette Strano of Cherokee Village, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (BSME); Seth Moffett of Brinkley, BS in land surveying and geomatics.

The Outstanding Student Award is given to the individual with the highest GPA within each of the seven undergraduate degree plans.

The recipients are Jackson Chrestman of Jonesboro, BS in computer science; Cody Painter of Rowlett, Bachelor of Arts (BA) in computer science; Samuel Morris of El Paso, BS in engineering technology; Ryan Ahmad of Anthony, BS in engineering management systems; Luke Carden of Maumelle, BSCE; Elijah Mullins of Brookland, BSEE; Tuan Kiet Vuong of Vietnam, BSME; Morgan Diamond of Jonesboro, BSME, and Dylan Stewart of Monette, BS in land surveying and geomatics.

Convocation of Scholars events continue throughout April at A-State.