Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Department of Music to present Student Honors Recital during Convocation of Scholars


JONESBORO -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the annual Student Honors Recital on Thursday, April 18 at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center Riceland Hall. Performers audition for the recital and are selected by a panel of judges representing the music faculty. This concert is free and open to the public.

Students performing on this year’s recital are:

Cori Beasley, soprano, from Gilmer, Texas, Shawn Crawford, alto saxophone, from Paragould, Adonias Finch, trumpet, from Dyer, Tenn., Cody Hutchinson, euphonium, from Jonesboro, Ruoman Jiang, piano, from Fujian, China, Barrett Kelly, piano, from Walnut Ridge, Brandon Moore, composition, from Dexter, Mo., Yuta Nishimura, piano, from Kanagawa, Japan, Jay Shepherd, guitar, from Paragould, and the Caprice Jazz Combo including Addison Boling, drums, from Jonesboro, Matt Bounds, bass, from Poplar Bluff, Mo., Alex Ditto, guitar, from Hoxie, Brandon Moore, saxophone, and Tim Moore, piano, both from Dexter, Mo.

Accompanists for the evening are: Shannon O’Connor, Sean Pollock, and Luca Strazzullo.

The students will present works by James Curnow, Roland Dyens, Carlisle Floyd, Alexander Goedicke, Ida Gotkovsky, Brandon Moore, W.A. Mozart, Chris Potter, Maurice Ravel, and Robert Schumann.

For more details, interested individuals may call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.

# # #