Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Department of Music to present Jazz Bands in concert, Thursday, Oct. 11


JONESBORO – The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present “An Evening of America’s Music: Jazz” on Thursday, Oct. 11, 7:30 p.m., at Riceland Hall in Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Dr.

The concert will feature the two large jazz ensembles from the jazz studies area, under the direction of Dr. Kenneth Carroll, director of jazz studies.

Both of these exciting groups perform traditional, main stream music written by great musicians including several local writers/arrangers. This concert is free and open to the public.

The Lab Band will begin the concert with a program selected from “Dizzying” by Ryan Kisor, “Bad Ol’ Blues” by Mike Carubia, “Prayer Meetin” by Matt Harris, “Groovin’ High” by Dizzy Gillespie, and “I Want You” by Mike Medrick. 

The musicians playing with the Lab Band are: saxophones: Bobby Coyle, Kyle Thrasher, Shawn Crawford, Tyler Fields, and Zach Simmons; trumpets: Andrew Webb, Ali Guedea, and Hunter Durham; trombones: Dustin Cole, Andrew Hackenwerth and Chris Smith; piano: Tyler Worsham; bass: Matt Bounds; guitar: Andy Mergy; drums: Jack Michson and Hunter Fegtly.

The second half of the concert will feature the ASU Jazz Band, Arkansas State’s premier jazz ensemble.

“This talented collection of jazz players is an obvious source of pride for the institution and the community,” commented Dr. Carroll.

The ASU Jazz Band will draw their set from “Blue Train” by John Coltrane, “Goodbye Pork Pie Hat” by Charles Mingus, “The Opener” by Ray Brown,  “Why Not” by J.J. Johnson,  and will close the concert with “From the Joke of the Same Name” by Don Bowyer, the new dean of the College of Fine Arts.

The ASU Jazz Band musicians include: saxophones: Clinton Curtis, Aaron Decker, Cody Ballard, Brandon Moore and Lauren Dudley; trumpets: T.J. Irvin, Matt Penny, Joshua Mobley, Adonias Finch and Seth Jansen; trombones: Alex McClung, Adam Waddell, Devondre Hince, and Dalton Henson; piano: Tim Moore; bass: Terrell Montgomery; guitar: Alex Ditto; drums: Garrett Tyler and Addison Boling.

# # #