Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Department of Music to present Faculty Recital


JONESBORO  – The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the first concert in the 2014-2015 Faculty Recital Series featuring faculty members Dr. Lauren Schack Clark, Dr. Marika Kyriakos, Matthew Carey as well as new faculty members Dr. Sarah Jones-Hayes and Dr. Bruce Faske.

The concert will be Monday, Sept. 22, at 7:30 in Fowler Center, Riceland Hall. The concert is free and open to the public.

The concert will include performances of Sonata for Piano and Violin, Op. 12, No. 3 by Ludwig van Beethoven, performed by Dr. Sarah Jones-Hayes and Dr. Lauren Schack Clark; “Just Another Hour” and “Damaged” by Richard Pearson Thomas, performed by Kyriakos, Carey, and Clark; Catalogue d’oiseaux, Book 5, “L’alouette calandrelle,” by Olivier Messaien, performed by Clark; and Elegie, Op. 3 No. 1 by Sergei Rachmaninoff, arranged by Victor Venglovsky,  and Southeastern Rhapsody by Frank Gulino, performed by Faske and Clark.

Jones-Hayes holds a DMA in violin performance from the University of Michigan and received her bachelor's and master's degrees in violin performance from the Cleveland Institute of Music. Her master's degree was in performance and Suzuki pedagogy.  She completed her long-term Suzuki training with Kimberly Meier-Sims.

She has taught at the Cleveland Institute of Music's preparatory department, Interlochen Arts Camp and Violin Institute, Wayne State University, and the University of Michigan.  A member of the Canton Symphony Orchestra, she also performs frequently with Akron and Traverse Symphony Orchestras and has appeared as soloist with the Southeastern Ohio Symphony Orchestra.  Recent performances include festival performances at the International Music Academy Plzn, Czech Republic, Boston Early Music Festival, and Mary Foulger Memorial Concerts at Lincoln Center.

Faske, instructor of trombone, teaches applied trombone lessons, conducts trombone choir, and performs with the Arkansas State Faculty Brass Quintet.  Previously he was adjunct instructor of trombone and euphonium at Southeastern Oklahoma State University, and maintained a large private trombone studio in the Dallas/Fort Worth area.  

He maintains a keen interest and research in the development of younger trombonists, particularly beginner students.  Faske has performed with numerous ensembles including the Dallas Opera, San Antonio Symphony, Tuscaloosa Symphony, Waco Symphony and the Lone Star Wind Orchestra.

Faske has given solo recitals at Ouachita Baptist University and Colorado State University, and has performed as soloist with the Southeastern Symphonic Winds, the University of Alabama Wind Ensemble, the University of West Georgia Brass Ensemble and the Texas State University-San Marcos Concert Band. 

In addition, he was a semi-finalist in the 2006 U.S. Army Band's Eastern Trombone Workshop National Solo Competition.

The audience is encouraged to visit two exhibitions in Bradbury Gallery during intermission.  The first is titled "Legacy," and is a tribute to Evan Lindquist, Arkansas’ first artist laureate and A-State emeritus professor of art.  The other exhibition, "Selections," features works from the Delta National Small Prints Exhibition, an annual juried print competition, which Lindquist founded in 1996.

For more details, one may call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.

# # #

Sarah Jones-Hayes
Dr. Sarah Jones-Hayes



Dr. Bruce Faske
Dr. Bruce Faske