Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Delta Byways Presents Special Innovation Awards for Tourism Achievement


JONESBORO – To recognize those who went above and beyond to promote tourism during the pandemic, Arkansas Delta Byways is presenting its first-ever Innovation Awards for 2020-21. Winners are receiving their awards during a traveling awards ceremony during Arkansas Tourism Week.

Arkansas Delta Byways is the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas: Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis. 

“These past two years have been very challenging for the tourism industry, especially in our area. However true to our heritage, culture and people, Delta perseverance prevailed,” said Dr. Adam Long, director of Arkansas State University’s Heritage Sites and executive director for Arkansas Delta Byways. “Businesses, organizations, events and individuals needed to develop innovative practices to survive.  The region did not disappoint in their creativity.”

Here are the awards winners, and the presentation locations:

Four recipients were recognized Monday:

  • National Cold War Center, at Blytheville Air Base.

  • Senator Keith Ingram and the Historical Preservation Society, at West Memphis Welcome Center.

  • Tyronza Christmas Parade Committee at Southern Tenant Farmers Museum.

  • Breezy Barnyards, Dianne Dewailly, at Lepanto City Hall.

The four recipients recognized today were:

  • EAST Program Cross County High School, Cherry Valley High School.         

  • East Arkansas Community College Fine Arts, EACC at Forrest City.

  • Painted Ladies Society, Marianna Square.

  • Louisiana Purchase State Park, King Biscuit Blues Mini Biscuit Bashes and Thrive, Inc., Helena Welcome Center.

On Wednesday, those to be recognized are:

  • Great River Road, Terri McCullough, 9 a.m., Lake Village Welcome Center.            

  • Food Truck Fridays, Ryan Copico, 11:30 a.m., 909 N. Street, Monticello.

  • Boys and Girls Club of McGehee, 1:00 p.m., 205 N. Washington Ave, McGehee.

  • Prairie Sunset Mural, 3:30 p.m., Stuttgart Chamber of Commerce.            

Recognitions on Thursday will be:

  • Christmas in the Hollow – Darrell and Ellen Dalton, 10 a.m., Piggott Square.          

  • Rector Community Museum Mini Concerts, 11:30 a.m., 310 S. Main Street, Rector.

  • Main Street Paragould Scarecrow Shuffle and Enchanting Nights, 1 p.m., 108 Emerson Street, Paragould

  • Native Brew Works, Jonesboro and the Johnny Cash Virtual Heritage Festival, 3 p.m. - 515 S. Gee Street, Jonesboro.

Weather permitting, ceremonies will be outside. The public is invited to all events.     

For more information, contact Arkansas Delta Byways, 870-897-4750.

Arkansas Delta Byways ogo.png