Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Concert Band & Symphonic Winds to Perform, Feb. 25


JONESBORO – The Concert Band and Symphonic Winds will present their first concert of the spring semester Thursday, Feb. 25, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall at Arkansas State University. 

The program will contain a variety of band music from early in the 20th century through the early 21st century.  This concert is free and open to the public.

The Concert Band will perform first.  They are under the direction of graduate conductors Kyle Kempf and Shane McGarrah.  The group will perform “Symphonic Overture” by Charles Carter, “Ballad for Peace” by Frank Erickson, “The Cave You Fear” by Michael Markowski, and “His Honor March” by Henry Fillmore. 

After a short intermission, the Symphonic Winds will begin their portion of the program under the direction of Dr. Sarah Labovitz, assistant professor of music and associate director of bands. 

The group will open with “National Emblem” by Bagley and arranged by Loras Schissel.  They will follow with “Yorkshire Ballad” by James Barnes, “Magneticfireflies” by Augusta Reed Thomas, and “Variations on a Korean Folksong” by John Barnes Chance.

For more information about this concert or any other A-State music event, one may contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.

# # #

Symphonic Winds

Josh Taylor Flute Bryant AR
Sarah Doty Flute Jonesboro AR
Rebekah Skinner Flute Bradford AR
Caitlin Sanders Flute Sherwood AR
Abby Lovell Flute Springdale AR
Samantha Holt Flute Jonesboro AR
Peyton Holzhauer Flute Highland AR
Michael Baxter Oboe Brookland AR
Hannah Cummins Oboe Batesville AR
Nathan Liouh Bassoon Jonesboro AR
Brianna Allen Bassoon Jonesboro AR
Brett Welch Clarinet Jonesboro AR
Krista Cortez Clarinet Bryant AR
Taylor Wilson Clarinet Jonesboro AR
Malorie Smithson Clarinet Cabot AR
Kayla Brown Clarinet Highland AR
Scarlet Pense Clarinet Bryant AR
Andrew Eckert Clarinet Jonesboro AR
Trevor Belyew Bass Clarinet Brookland AR
Sophie Hedge Bass Clarinet Jonesboro AR
Jonathan Vickers Alto Sax Paragould AR
Jesse Bankston Alto Sax Jonesboro AR
Nicole Rigby Alto Sax Vilonia AR
Kyle Thrasher Tenor Sax Poplar Bluff MO
Zach Mullen Baritone Sax Walnut Ridge AR
Christian Lee Trumpet Malvern AR
Ray Davis Trumpet Sherwood AR
Jordan Cox Trumpet North Little Rock AR
Dalton Austin Trumpet Osceola AR
David Camp Trumpet Jonesboro AR
Caleb Benbrook Trumpet Piggott AR
Ali Guedea Trumpet Paragould AR
Colton Carner Trumpet Paragould AR
Elaine McConnell Trumpet Wynne AR
Rona Smith Horn Paragould AR
Hannah Todd Horn Mountain Home AR
Casey Garwood Horn Jonesboro AR
Hannah Brown Horn Cabot AR
Daniel Baxter Horn Brookland AR
Nathan Anderson Trombone Sherwood AR
Katie Gramlich Trombone Fort Smith AR
John Charles Trombone Hot Springs AR
Tylor Wright Euphonium Paragould AR
Chandler Weber Euphonium Sherwood AR
Cody Duncan Tuba Harrisburg AR
Kyle Kempf Tuba Cabot AR
Alex Washam Percussion Jonesboro AR
Noah Nichols Percussion Morrilton AR
Mason Irby Percussion Jonesboro AR
Christopher Isom Percussion Jonesboro AR
Nicolby Newman Percussion Jonesboro AR
Tyler Huffstutler Percussion Paragould AR


Concert Band

Paige Busby Flute West Memphis AR
Madison Creekmore Flute Harrisburg AR
Caitlin Haight Flute Mountain Home AR
Claire Howard Flute Gosnell AR
Sarah Joiner Flute Fisk MO
Brittany Kimbrell Flute Stuttgart AR
Whitney Shug Flute Jonesboro AR
Emily Hohn Oboe Poplar Bluff MO
Josh Taylor Oboe Bryant AR
Shelby Chappell Bassoon Dexter MO
Ali Guedea Bassoon Paragould AR
Madi Booth Clarinet Jonesboro AR
Christopher Elliott Clarinet Bay AR
Kelsey Graham Clarinet Beebe AR
Megan Land Clarinet Vilonia AR
Kayla Miller Clarinet Trumann AR
Luke Priest Clarinet Jonesboro AR
Hailey Smith Clarinet Jonesboro AR
Ana-Liese Torres Clarinet Jonesboro AR
Rebecca Grant Bass Clarinet Batesville AR
Alexandra Borchardt Alto Sax Monticello AR
Connor Boyster Alto Sax Piggott AR
William Cole Alto Sax Paragould AR
Bre Francis Alto Sax Marked Tree AR
Seth McAfee Alto Sax Rector AR
Kyle Runsick Alto Sax Paragould AR
Cameron Sadler Alto Sax Lake Village AR
David Stroud Alto Sax Paragould AR
Corrina Whitfield Alto Sax Marion AR
Lauren Barnett Tenor Sax Stuttgart AR
Dakota Gage Tenor Sax Hoxie AR
Joshua Longing Tenor Sax Monticello AR
Joseph VanScoy Tenor Sax Jonesboro AR
Maryellen Wollschlager Tenor Sax Williford AR
Austin Sandy Baritone Sax Jonesboro AR
Blake Bartholomae Trumpet Mountain Home AR
Kevin Bontempo Trumpet Cabot AR
Dylan Bullard Trumpet Blythesville AR
Kendrick Davis Trumpet Batesville AR
Ethan Lutjen Trumpet North Little Rock AR
Casey Mullen Trumpet Sherwood AR
Luis Portillo Trumpet North Little Rock AR
Jackson Powers Trumpet Paragould AR
Chris Wilson Trumpet Memphis TN
Cory Huffine Horn Jonesboro AR
Samantha Risi Horn Jonesboro AR
Jennifer Taylor Horn Cabot AR
Tyler Beard Trombone North Little Rock AR
Allen Deaver Trombone Fort Smith AR
Curtis Forsythe Trombone Jacksonville AR
Nicholas Householder Trombone Rector AR
Brandon Lercher Trombone Beebe AR
Jenni McDonough Euphonium Cabot AR
Jacklyn Risi Euphonium Jonesboro AR
LaDawna Williams Euphonium North Little Rock MS
Shunn Frazier Tuba Ackerman MS
Spencer Graham Tuba Rose Bud AR
Casey Sherwood Tuba Paragould AR
Erica Bearden Percussion Judsonia AR
Tye Crawford Percussion Highland AR
Joseph Erwin Percussion Little Rock AR
Geoff Flemmons Percussion Jonesboro AR
Gaby Flores Percussion Jonesboro AR
Rex Peevey Percussion Jonesboro AR


Fowler Center
Fowler Center