Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Sciences and Mathematics Cites Top Graduates during Convocation of Scholars


JONESBORO -- The College of Science and Mathematics at Arkansas State University recognized 26 outstanding graduating students for 2013-14 during the college’s Convocation of Scholars awards ceremony, according to Dr. John Pratte, dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Natanya Clark of Batesville.  The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college. 

Devin Reed and Hannah Wright received the 4.0 Graduate Award.  When more than one person within the academic college has a 4.0, the Chancellor’s Scholar is the student who has completed the most credit hours.

Clark, Reed and Wright also received the departmental award in each of their respective degree programs.

The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were:

Devin Reed of Springdale, BS, biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Reid Martin of Cabot, BS, biological sciences (zoology); Nicole Poe of Leachville, BS, biological sciences (botany); Jonathan Wagner of Brookland, BS, biological sciences (environmental); Veronica Hawes of Jonesboro, BS, biological sciences; Alex Worm of Conway, BS, wildlife ecology and management; Hannah Wright of Calico Rock, BSE, biological sciences.

Hilary Dowd of Wynne, BA, chemistry; Dylan Barnett of Bono, BS, chemistry; Christy Pike of Palestine, BSE, chemistry; Matthew Johnson of Pocahontas, BS, physics; Kristen Collins of Batesville, BSE, physics.

Biljana Miloshevska of Macedonia, BA, computer science; Matthew Manning of Paragould, BS, computer science; Natanya Clark of Batesville, BSE, mathematics; Camden Harrell of West Memphis and Matthew Manning of Paragould (co-recipients), BS, mathematics.

Graduate student awards were presented to seven candidates for the master’s degree and two candidates for doctoral degrees.

The students and their respective programs were: Amy Wynia of Wyoming, Mich., MS, biology; Kenichiro Saito of Japan, MS, chemistry; Fatemah Alghamedy of Saudi Arabia, Yi Chen of China and Yulu Zhang of China (co-recipients), MS, computer science; Delong Li of China and Jared Wolf of Jonesboro (co-recipients), MS, mathematics; Evan L. Pannkuk of Raleigh, N.C., Ph.D, environmental sciences; and Katherine A. Lisko of Hazen, Ph.D., molecular biosciences.

# # #

Science and Math logo