Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Nursing and Health Professions Cites Top Graduating Students during Convocation of Scholars


JONESBORO -- The College of Nursing and Health Professions at Arkansas State University recognized its most outstanding graduating students during its annual Convocation of Scholars honors program Monday evening, according to Dr. Susan Hanrahan, dean of the college.

Amanda Layer of Rector, a communication disorders major, was recognized as recipient of the Chancellor’s Scholar award for having the highest grade point average (4.0) in the college. Addie Kortan of Blytheville, a nursing major, received the 4.0 Award. When more than one person has a 4.0, the Chancellor’s Scholar is the student who has completed the most credit hours.

The students were selected by faculty in the individual degree programs to receive the awards for outstanding achievement, leadership and service to their respective departments and degree programs, both in the classroom and in the clinical experience.

Award winners in the School of Nursing were: Amber Calendar of Sulphur Rock, MSN, adult health nursing; Miguel Rodriquez of Gassville, MSN, family nurse practitioner; and John Rexwinkle of Hot Springs, MSN, nurse anesthesia; and Addie Kortan of Blytheville, BSN, nursing.

Others were Stephanie (Paige) Russell of Jonesboro, AAS, nursing, ASU-Jonesboro; Kristine Whitted of Jacksonville, AAS, nursing (traditional), ASU-Beebe site; Susan Rankin of Cabot, AAS, nursing (LPN to RN), ASU-Beebe site; Laura Gates of Tuckerman, AAS, nursing (traditional), ASU-Mountain Home site; Russell Webster of Mountain Home, AAS, nursing (LPN to RN), ASU-Mountain Home site; and Tina Hankins of Little Rock, AAS, nursing (traditional), West Memphis site; Jennifer Gardner of Jonesboro and Bertha Kelly-Perryman of Fayette, Miss., AAS, nursing (LPN to RN), West Memphis site.

Award winners in the Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences and their respective degree programs were: Madison Frego of Paragould, BS, clinical laboratory science; and Landon Scott of Jonesboro, AAS, clinical laboratory science.

In the Department of Communication Disorders, the top students and their respective degree programs were: Amanda Layer of Rector, BS, communication disorders; Jessica White of Paragould and Holly Morrison of Harrisburg, MCD, communication disorders.

The students recognized in the Department of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences were: Nicole Spurlock of Cave City, BSRS, imaging specialist; Jennifer Welch of Little Rock, BSRS, diagnostic medical sonography; Megan Carver of Grenada, Miss., BSRS, radiation therapy; Emily Qualls of Collierville, Tenn., BSRS, magnetic resonance imaging; and Ray Williams of Proctor, AAS, radiologic technology.

The Department of Physical Therapy recognized two students in their respective degree programs: Michael Creason of Pocahontas, DPT, doctor of physical therapy; and Tyler Watkins of Jonesboro, AAS, physical therapist assistant.

The award winners in the Department of Social Work was Kim Bliss of Jonesboro, BSW, social work; and Benjamin Moore of Walnut Ridge, MSW, social work.

Kyle Plunkett of Grady received the Beverly Bartels Undergraduate Nursing Service Award, and Amy Copeland of Jonesboro received the Don Vollman Jr. MD Award.