Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Humanities and Social Sciences Recognizes Outstanding Graduates


JONESBORO -- The College of Humanities and Social Sciences at Arkansas State University recognized its most outstanding graduating students as recipients of college and departmental awards for 2013-14 during its annual honors banquet, according to Dr. Lauri Umansky, dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Brittany Roe of Jonesboro, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English.   The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest cumulative grade point average in the college. 

Molly Caid Delp  of Jonesboro, an English major in the BSE program, received the 4.0 Graduate Award.

Criminology, Sociology, and Geography

Receiving awards as outstanding students in the Department of Criminology, Sociology, and Geography and their degree programs were Hunter Green of Mountain Home, BA, criminology; Salecia Walls of Little Rock, BA, sociology; Jennifer Miller of Blytheville, MA, criminal justice; and Jessica Middleton of Sulphur Rock, MA, sociology.

English and Philosophy

In the Department of English and Philosophy, winners and their respective programs were Molly Caid Delp, BSE, English; Brittany Roe of Jonesboro, BA, English; Cameron Kelley of Walnut Ridge, BA, philosophy; Edward A. Belly III of Newport,  MA, English; and Allison Eskew of Paragould, MSE, English.


History Department recognitions went to Ashley McMurtry of Frisco, Texas, BSE, social science; Shawnequa Charmaine Clark of Blytheville and Candace Taylor of Paragould, BA, history; and William Hardin of Brookland, recipient of the Dr. John Galloway Award for most outstanding student in the MA, history, program.

Political Science

The Political Science Department’s outstanding students included Bryant Moy of Jacksonville, BA, political science; Christopher Dewayne Harris of Arkadelphia, MA, political science; and Chocoletta Ann Simpson of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Master of Public Administration.

World Languages and Cultures

In the Department of World Languages and Cultures, those honored and their programs were Tiffany Sheard of Jonesboro, BA, world languages and cultures, with emphasis in Spanish, and Leslie Ginn of Walnut Ridge, BSE, world languages and cultures, with emphasis in Spanish.

Veteran Faculty Members Recognized

Ten faculty members who have completed 30 of more years of service in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences were recognized for their years of service.  Sam Gennuso, with 51 years, is retiring this year.  The others are Dr. George Horneker, Nancy Young, Dr. Frances Hunter, Dr. Bill Stroud, Dr. Alex Sydorenko, Dr. Catherine Calloway, Dr. Dennis Rousey, Dr. David Levenbach and Dr. Pamela Hronek.

Faculty with at least 25 years are Dr. Robert Schichler and Dr. Victoria Spaniol.

#  #  #

Deborah Chappel Traylor and Molly Caid Delp
Dr. Deborah Chappel Traylor, associate dean, and Molly Caid Delp.